We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with below average food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Average hotel with below average food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The breakfast that is included in the stay is by far the worst of any of the Marriott chains (and well below Hilton chains). The quality and consistency of the food was below average. The manager meals at night were poor. The choices for food were awful. Last time we stayed for a few weeks (between houses) at least our kids could eat what was served. No more. Too bad. Great location and pet friendly (which is why we had to stay here).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated. We moved from one room to another and first room was updated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Linda H,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent travel experience with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor. However it is with deep regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us this time.

Our management and Hearth Room staff constantly strive to provide the best quality food and variety for our guests. For breakfast we rotate many different items like french toast, pancakes, sausage hash, turkey sausage, sausage gravy and biscuits, grits, turkey bacon, etc. Found daily on our delicious buffet is scrambled eggs, freshly cut fruit, greek yogurt, bagels, muffins, toast, oatmeal, and a waffle station with all the fixins.

All Residence Inn's offer an evening social, but ours goes above and beyond many others. For instance, on our "Comfort Food" night, you can find guests sampling prime rib, pot roast, or even roasted ham & potatoes. We also try to showcase local restaurants as much as we can.

Linda, I am sincerely sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations, and would have loved to fix this for you while you were here with us. Our main goal is to truly give our guests the feeling of exactly what "Southern Hospitality" is, and I can see we did not acheive that with you during this stay. We would love to have you back after our sleeping room renovations are done so we can show you our commitment to 100% guest satisfaction. When you plan on returning to Charleston, please feel free to email me at erin.thomson@marriott.com and I will be happy to personally coordinate your reservation.

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview and hope that we will see you soon. Until then, take care.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    193
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
226
167
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I just spend the last several weeks at the Residence in, and it was a terrific stay. The staff that are at the hotel are just phenomenal. Kerry, Whitney, and Loretta in particular really made the stay for us. They greeted us right away and treated us kindness the whole time. We had several other staff that knew us by name and were a joy to be around including Sherry, Leticia, and Daniel. Thank you to all the staff there, you made our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: The top two floors have been totally renovated, and the rest will be by the end of summer 2014, so u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultan, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our second stay at this location and, as expected, we were impressed. The room is exactly what we remembered and fairly standard for Residence Inn - loved having the balcony available for relaxing with a cup of coffee in the morning - but it's the people and programs that really set this Residence Inn apart from any other we've stayed at. The nightly events are a fantastic idea and perk of staying here. We were visiting family so we only participated in the appetizer night but it was wonderful and well-attended. All the staff we encountered were amazing. So friendly and helpful you want to take them home with you! The bed and pillows were comfortable. Having a full-size fridge with ice maker came in handy for filling our cooler with ice and chilled water. The location was within 20 minutes of everywhere we wanted to go. All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend this location for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank welove2travel850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location and tremendous value. If I come back to Charleston or anyone asks me about my stay I'll recommend coming here. The rooms are great with a full kitchen for families and the evening socials really separate this place from every other hotel we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSteveMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived early with our 2 children and our dog. They rushed to get our room ready and let us check in a little early. We had a studio that had a queen sofa bed for them and a queen for us. Having a kitchen while on vacation was such a God send with small kids because we were able to not only store their food/snacks but also cook them dinner before we all went somewhere to eat. Breakfast had plenty of options for all of us. They also have free wifi and a shuttle that runs downtown and back pretty frequently. It's only a few minutes from west ashley, about 10 to downtown and 20 to folly beach. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was very clean. For a family stay, I can't see why you would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I know they are renovating some rooms and they started working on the room above us pretty early. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LRTLDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rooms have just been repainted and the hotel is in great condition. Shuttle to downtown is very helpful. Wine tastings and free breakfast are a plus. My wife and I stay most of the time when we go to Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouisH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a really great stay in this hotel. The staff are all really friendly, and go out of their way to
Please. They have a shuttle to the historic district from 5:30 until 11:30 pm.
Besides a complimentary breakfast they also have different snacks in the afternoon, and in the
Early evening a light meal or wine,beer and appetizers. I would definitely stay there again.

K post

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mrsmole0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing