We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved my stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has had way more amenities for free than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. They offered a free shuttle service to go to downtown Charleston and they also provided grocery shopping for you. The breakfast provided was also very top notch. They provided hot foods, while most hotels only provide foods like cereal and rubber-like scrambled eggs. The market place in the hotel had everything you could ever need and they don't over charge at all like most hotels do. The jacuzzi was out of service unfortunately, but it was not to the fault of the hotel staff. Speaking of the staff, the staff was very friendly. I was able to come to them with any question. My husband and I are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    192
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
223
166
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel but will definitely be coming back! It is set perfectly less than 5 miles from downtown Charleston. The hotel was very clean and staff was extremely helpful. We reserved the 2 bedroom suite and it was very spacious for 4 of us. The hotel offers a shuttle service into Charleston. We weren't very impressed with breakfast though. The food was very bland tasting. But it was included with our stay so it made it convenient for our morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MommaDukes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is what I expect a Residence Inn to be. Everything excellent! Room appears to be freshly renovated. I had a one bedroom suite. It's tight around the bed in the bedroom, but you can squeeze around the bed.
Parking was an issue. There are four containers in the parking lot from the renovations whicha re taking up many parking spaces. This hotel could use more parking spaces.
Pool and gym are nice. Daily breakfast is fresh and good.
A bit confusing to get to the first time, but I quickly found my way around the area.

Overall, I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Marsh view rooms have nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CEMike1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a two bedroom suite. The room and the hotel were clean and stylish. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful when we needed sheets for the pull out sofa bed.

The breakfast was great. Everything was well stocked and the area was clean.

My daughter left her glasses in the room. I called that night and reported it, by 10AM the next morning I had received a call from the office and was told they had located the glasses and were mailing them to my house. Great service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice property and surrounding area, even had a pool lift. Helpful staff and evening socials. Minutes from downtown, 10 minutes to Folly Beach. Right off major access roads. Don't know about accessibility (wheelchair) of shuttle, that's why a 4.

Room Tip: higher floors for view of marsh
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Accessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed over the 4th of July holiday and it was perfect. We were only a few minutes away from downtown Charleston, but the shuttle alleviated the need to drive and having to look for parking. We had a great breakfast each morning and the rooms were very nice and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this property and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were surprised at how nice this hotel was for the price, and with such a good location. It was quiet - no road noise - and CLEAN. The room (studio with double bed and sofa bed) was clean and fresh without smelling like chemicals. Front desk staff was friendly, cheerful and professional. The only negative was the sofa in the room - it wasn't very comfortable to sit on; it felt kind of "slanty" (probably due to it being a sofa bed). We left early morning so we didn't get to see the breakfast, but the coffee was good (free and available 24/7). We've visited Charleston a lot and can't believe we've never stayed here before. It'll be our first choice next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing