We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great, Weekday evening reception was more than one could ask for. Hotel had Prime rib the first night we were there. The hotel and rooms very well kept. Clean.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Charleston area.
Everything is close by. From Downtown Charleston to the plantations to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justified777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    192
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
222
163
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed two nights in your 2 bedroom suite and the stay was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A great positive was your shuttle driver, Stanley, who went above and beyond the call of duty. He was polite and helpful and made our ride to and from downtown very enjoyable. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything was SUPER clean, loved the large room and breakfast. Such a wonderful place to stay instead of pricey downtown but we were just minutes away from anything. I would highly recommend staying here for anyone traveling to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Remodeling construction going on right now. Some noise from that, but not very bothersome.
Staff at this hotel is very helpful and polite.
Breakfast is very good with many choice to suit all.
Weekday evening receptions are more than enough to make a meal of if desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kayled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for three nights. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Every staff member that we ran into, weather a maintenance person or a front desk clerk greeted us. The front desk had easy to follow directions to every attraction and restaurant that we wanted to see as well as a shuttle to downtown.
The breakfast that they served was a great benefit and the food was very good.
The room was very clean and well stocked. We used our "no service today" sign for our whole stay and still had plenty of supplies. The beds were very comfortable as the room temperature was easy to control.
The kids had a great time in the pool, though the crowd at the pool made me a little uncomfortable with the kids. It seemed as though everyone was smoking, and drinking a little too much. The pool crowd was building a pyramid of beer cans along the side of the pool. Though a little loud, there was no trouble or I would have contacted the staff.
Don't let the name of the hotel fool you......it is not downtown, though close by and they offer a shuttle in the evenings. And though it is near the river, you can't see it from the hotel...but I knew that prior to going, because I read a trip advisor review prior to going.
The hotel is also not far from the airport and there are tons of attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where your room is as you can't see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights prior to leaving for a cruise out of charleston! The staff was incredibly helpful with everything and anything and couldn't have been any nicer! Where can you stay that provides not only breakfast, but beer, wine and food such as bbq chicken, burgers and hot dogs in the evening, and all form fee? You can't beat that! They had games by the pool and even gave prizes! Such a fun time! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will try to find a Residence Inn to stay in when ever I travel again. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has had way more amenities for free than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. They offered a free shuttle service to go to downtown Charleston and they also provided grocery shopping for you. The breakfast provided was also very top notch. They provided hot foods, while most hotels only provide foods like cereal and rubber-like scrambled eggs. The market place in the hotel had everything you could ever need and they don't over charge at all like most hotels do. The jacuzzi was out of service unfortunately, but it was not to the fault of the hotel staff. Speaking of the staff, the staff was very friendly. I was able to come to them with any question. My husband and I are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing