We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a boss hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a boss hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent value super helpful staff rooms are clean and fully furnished even the balcony. Near the water kids had a blast in the pool. Stay here they will accommodate ur needs. Had a great nite sleep woke up charged up and ready for the day. Being our first time in Charleston this place made a great first impression.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippynig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    191
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
219
163
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Staff was very friendly and took care of several requests (credit card change, band aids, little stuff, but helped out in a cheerful spirit). Breakfast was standard with waffles in the shape of South Carolina. They made a yogurt/granola parfait; very good. Room very spacious, comfortable. Beds/linen very nice. Pool and fitness center were good. Only negative was parking. If you got back late on the weekend when the hotel was busy the parking overflowed onto the street. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

For the second time in 3 years we spent 3 days and 4 nights at this Inn. As always the staff was wonderful and the accommodations excellent. The salt water pool is a very nice touch. Complimentary breakfast was usually quite good for that sort of thing. Proximity to the other islands and beaches as well as the free shuttle service downtown was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ligobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

After a disastrous night at a different hotel we moved here. It was only a king studio, but it had plenty of room and a balcony with pool view and above all it was CLEAN. On the downside the a/c unit is vented to that balcony and blows hot air out if it's running which makes the balcony a little hot. We finally moved the furniture to the other side which made it more bearable. Quite nice early in the morning. The pool was a little crowded at night with children so I swam in the morning when it was quite peaceful. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Hot breakfast in the morning was very good. A free shuttle to take you to the downtown area in the evenings. We liked it so much we stayed there an extra night. I am a Marriott rewards member, but had never stayed at Residence before, now we're hooked. I used their laundry facilities while we were there and everything was very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and it was kind of an inside corner room which was quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
289 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was an great stay. The rooms are clean and quiet. The extras (evening snacks with beer and wine) were good and the evening shuttle rides to downtown were a great idea to avoid the hunt for parking in the evening.

The front desk staff was really exceptional- D'Andre was super and deserves recognition by the hotel management for providing great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn in Charleston for 2 weeks while working and had disastrous results.

I've stayed at this hotel before (I'm a Marriott's Reward member) and was aware of their 'pet friendly' policy. On previous stays, I've gotten into the room to find animal hair on the furniture and carpet. They do not do a good job at cleaning the rooms after a guest brings a pet in.

This stay was for 2 weeks while I was working. I worked every day then came back to the room in the evening and continued to work every night in the room, eating my meals in the room. I didn't have time to site see or do any activities outside of work on this trip.

After 1 week in the room, I developed a round rash on my stomach and some intense itching and bumps below my belly button. I immediately reported this to the front desk and went to the doctors the next day (missing 3/4 of a days work).

The doctor confirmed that I had picked up ring worm (a very contagious fungus that can be transmitted and carried via animals and on surfaces such as bed sheets and furniture). Since the only places I had been were work and the hotel room, I have good reason to believe that I picked up the fungus from the room. Probably from a guest that had a pet with them.

I requested that the hotel change all the bedding and clean my room, which they did. They also followed up the next day with several calls to me and offered to send me to a doctor - but I had already been to one that afternoon. I also requested a change of room, from a one bedroom to a two bedroom as I was having family come to visit during the last 2 days of my stay. I requested they do extensive cleaning in the new room and it appeared that they did.

After the couple of phone calls that next day, no one from the hotel contacted me again regarding the incident and never offered to compensate me for anything. They didn't even offer points or free stays. I was completely put off by their lack of concern for something that was quite an ordeal for me. I've never had ring worm, not even athlete's foot, even though the doctor told me it was an easy thing to pickup as it is very contagious.

When I returned to my room the next day, I found water leaking through the bathroom ceiling and dripping onto the toilet. I reported this to the front desk. They did send maintenance up immediately to look at the problem. The toilet in the room above me was leaking and they repaired the leak right away but they couldn't get all the water out of the space between the rooms so it continued to drip water all over the toilet, splashing onto the floor.

After about an hour, I went to the front desk to see what they were going to do since I couldn't use the bathroom without having to clean up the floor and toilet, and without having water drip onto my head. - All attitude from the front desk clerk. The clerk smirked at me and told me there was nothing she could do as they didn't have any open rooms. I asked her what I was supposed to do since I couldn't use the bathroom without getting dripped on. She shrugged and said she had no idea. Several hours later she called up to my room to ask me if the dripping had stopped and sarcastically asked if I wanted her to come up and wipe the water off of the toilet.

Things just keep going badly as I changed rooms. I moved from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom during my second week and specifically asked if the corporate rate would be different. I was told that the rate would be the same. When I checked my reservation online, the rate was higher. I talked with the front desk again and the desk clerk was all attitude (no surprise at this point), insisting that no one would have offered me the same rate for a 2 bedroom suite.

The rest of the stay was uneventful, although I'm can't imagine how it could have been any worse. They did give me the 2 bedroom suite at the 1 bedroom rate but that was all the compensation I ever got for the extreme stress that I went through.

I'd recommend skipping this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that hasn't had any pets in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Denise B,

I hope you are having a wonderful day and that your travels back to Elgin were pleasant! As a passionate service professional, you can imagine that I am disappointed to read that we did not meet all of your expectations and for that, I sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire team.

Even though we both agree the failures you experienced seemed to be "a perfect storm" and very uncommon, we stay 100% committed to excellence so that every guest's high expectations of us are met or exceeded. Please know that we take cleanliness very seriously and that we implement an all day de-allerization cleaning process for rooms that have housed pets. During this process, all linens are stripped and the entire room is professionally steam cleaned (including the curtains, carpets & sofa). We also have our pest control company visit on a regular basis to ensure that our hotel stays pest free. After much investigating and research, we feel as it is safe to say that the ringworm was not contracted at the hotel. ALL linens (including sheets, towels, bathmats, etc.) are washed daily in all of our suites.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to demonstrate our commitment to excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you.


Yours in hospitality,


Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from Charleston and we stayed 3 nights as the Residence Inn. When we first booked the hotel we were a little worried that it wasn't right in the historic district but we didn't want to pay the prices for the hotels down there. I can't say how much we enjoyed our stay here.
They have a shuttle that will take you and pick you up from the historic district that runs from 5PM - 11:45 PM. The shuttle driver was very nice and extremely helpful. He suggested places to go and gave directions.
The hotel has ample parking. We got a rental car so that we could go to the beaches while we were there. We drove to Folly and IOP, the hotel was pretty central to everywhere we wanted to go.
For free hotel food, they have really good food. The breakfast was the best free hotel breakfast that I can think of. We also attended their Manager's Happy Hour one evening and a beer tasting another evening.
Every person we encountered working at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The pool was nice, it's small but it wasn't crowded, and they allow you to drink out there.
I would definitely stay at this place again when we hopefully make it back to Charleston in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing