We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

You get everything that you expect from a RI at this hotel - clean, well-organized rooms, free full breakfast, and good service. Our only complaint was that it is not within walking distance to anything and is across the river from downtown. Comfortable and economical place to stay in Charleston, though.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Owner at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. We take pride in our hardworking staff- thank you for recognizing them! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We want you to feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    193
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
227
168
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Just some information. My husband is at the hotel for an extended stay. The cleaning staff is excellent. The room itself was average, and needs some updating. Carpet was worn in some areas. Also there is not very much within walking distance. And if you do walk anywhere there is very limited sidewalk. They do offer a shuttle to downtown Charleston after 6:00 p.m. which is great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Owner at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Overall, this was an excellent value.

Pros: The full service kitchen was excellent, and saved us money in the long run, since we could fix our own lunches and dinners. The restaurant California Dreaming was within walking distance if you wanted dinner out, and was very nice. The hotel was pet friendly, so the whole family was welcome. The morning breakfast was an excellent touch! Not only did they serve a real, hearty breakfast of eggs, fresh-made waffles, etc,, but they varied the fare so you wouldn't feel stuck with the same meal day after day. Hotel is a short distance from town, but far enough out to feel like you could get away from the hussle. A shuttle was available to take you for free into town between 6pm and 11:15 pm each night. Also, it was so pleasantly quiet! On such a busy weekend, I expected loud noise, slammed doors, but for whatever reason, it was so peacefully quiet. Staff was very helpful. Swimming pool was small, but nice, very popular. Hot-tub looked inviting. Fitness center was available.

Cons: There aren't many. It does have a slight shop-worn feel. When I asked for extra blankets, I was told they were out, which was disappointing. A large picture dislodged from the bathroom wall as my daughter was getting out of the shower, and shattered glass everywhere. Staff was quick to clean it, but you could see that it had been hung improperly. The shuttle was a great convenience, since parking in town is a bear, so it would have been lovely if it had been available at least part of the daytime, too. There is no shuttle from the airport, so taxi fair was quite steep from there. And, as one would expect, the foldout couch was not very comfortable at all as a bed, but they will bring mattress pads on request to make them feel a bit better.

Overall, a really surprisingly nice value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Owner at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
Thank you for taking time to leave such great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and your suite's full sized kitchen! Just to update- we take our guest comments very seriously, and have ordered new blankets. We strive for all guests to feel comfortable and at home! Unfortunately, we cannot provide a day-time shuttle due obligations with the Medical University of SC. We provide a day time shuttle for patients and their families to make life a little easier on them during their hard times. Thanks again for all of your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of accommodating your family next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed here for a family spring break trip, here are our highs and lows:

Highs:
Cost/Value: Excellent! We paid less than $200 a night for a room that slept 4, had a nice size, and well stocked kitchen and full size refrigerator, and included a daily breakfast buffet consisting of several hot items (Eggs/oatmeal/meat/etc.), bread/pastries, cereal, granola, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and make-your-own-Belgian waffles. There is also a managers reception Mon-Thurs, we went one night and it featured chicken strips, soup, and complementary wine/beer/lemonade/tea. We also frequented the heated pool and hot tub.

Location: About 5 minutes from downtown, 15 minutes from Patriots Point, and 20 minutes from Folly Beach, free, albeit crowded parking

Service: Very friendly staff, very responsive to our needs.

Lows:
Not many. The shower/bathroom is showing its age and we arrived to a clogged tub that needed a service call. The pull-out bed, like all hotel pull-out beds I've used, is terribly uncomfortable for an adult. The parking lot was very crowded as well at night, meaning you had to park anywhere there is space (along curbs is acceptable). Our only real complaint is that the housekeeper was stingy with service items, we made frequent requests for toilet paper, soap, towels, etc. Also, breakfast is very hectic, and very crowded with limited available seating during busy times unless it's nice enough to sit outside, but the staff tries as hard as it can to keep things full. The fitness center is a bit weak, featuring a few treadmills, a bike, and a stair machine as well as a set of dumbbells and a bench.

Another note about this hotel is that it's pet friendly with a pet walking area out back. Dogs were everywhere. It seemed like we may have been the only guests who didn't bring a pooch.

Overall we were pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Owner at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Thank you so much for the thorough review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Just to update- Our housekeeping supervisor is aware of the issue during your stay. We are implementing a new checklist system to ensure that each guests' room is receiving the necessary toiletries. For possible future stays, please note that we have an agreement with Gold's Gym. Just show your room key, and you can work out free of charge. They are located about 0.2miles away! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

First the pros: This hotel is in an excellent location for touring around Charleston and vicinity. Considerably more economical than staying in the city proper and there is free on site parking. There is a free shuttle that will take you into the city and back, hourly, in the evenings. The front desk staff is friendly. If you have an extended stay, you'll be pleased with the counterspace in the kitchen, full size refrigerator, and full size dishwasher. The beds were very comfortable.

Now the cons: We arrived on Christmas Even and stayed for 6 days. Upon arrival, we were told that the housekeeping staff was given the day off for Christmas, so there would be no housekeeping services. Nice idea, but I feel that our rate should have been reduced, given the reduction in services. For this next issue, I need to state up front that I am a small lady without a big appetite, and my family is on the lighter side too. On Christmas day, the breakfast "buffet" was a bit sparse, as expected given the skeleton staff. However, over the next several days, the food selections dwindled without replacement. I finally approached the manager on the third or fourth stay, when, I was able to swipe the last piece of stale toast. The ONLY other food items on the "buffet" were fruit loops cereal and make your own waffles. I was told that delivery of cereals were not on "the truck" as expected (they couldn't make a petty cash run to Costco to replace??). The manager did summon extra help to the buffet to try and expedite replacing what they could, but it was still pretty pathetic. The other big problem is that the dining area is tiny and unable to accommodate the number of guests. My family of four got a table on two of the days, had to sit on a couch on three of the days, and on the last day, it was standing room only, so we brought our food items, as did many other guests, up to our room. We typically stay at the embassy suites hotel; this experience was significantly inferior. If we were big breakfast eaters, I would not recommend this hotel, as the overall breakfast experience was extremely unpleasant.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ptown98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Loved this Residence Inn. Clean spacious rooms and lovely lobby. Welcomed by name at the front desk by Doris (I hope that's right because she was a gem!) and given great directions to the beach. This hotel is a great choice for exploring the historic district as they offer great shuttle service. Take your family to Charleston and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend and were impressed by the nice decor and comfortable rooms. The layout was great with the sofa/TV area and kitchen/bar and small work desk. Plenty of space in a time when hotel rooms seem to get smaller.

While we did experience some other room noise, it was usually in the morning. It would be great if people could remember to hold the doors when they leave to avoid the door SLAMMING! That was most of the noise, although you could hear showers also, bit I think that depended on the room layout. I would agree with other comments about the lack of parking as we noticed cars parked along the curbs in the morning. That was not an issue for us as we took the shuttle downtown everynight. The shuttle is a nice convenience, but limits your time if you are a night owl as the last pickup time was 11:15PM. You could always catch a cab home.

The breakfast was excellent with eggs and bacon, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, toast, juice, coffee. You really couldn't do much better unless you went to a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing