We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite Staff - But Not Up to Marriott Residence Inn Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I'm a frequent traveller for work and until now have stayed exclusively at Marriott Properites. This trip was leisure not business, and I chose Marriott so we would be assured of quality accomodations. What a major league disappointment this property was! We booked weeks in adavnace of our stay and provided my "Marriott Rewards number" at the time of booking. We arrive to find a choice of two "accessible rooms" and that was it. Both were next to the elevator. Our room was horrible - dirt and mold in the bathroom, the mattress needed to be replaced a long time ago. Both sides rolled to the center ! The windows may as well have been left out - you looked out to see the wall next door, nothing else. The room was dark, not welcoming, carpets were worn and it' looked like it surely has seen a lot of hard use. TV was terrible - needs to be updated. As a frequent Marriott guest - this was just plain disgusting. The lobby market-place was out of everything, and the complimentary popcorn for each room was even gone. The only positive thing I can say about this stay is the breakfast was ok the next morning. Not great, just ok. I wish I could think of more positive items to list for this property - since all the other Marriotts I have ever stayed in have been up to par - but this place was a dump. Lower your expectations, if you plan on staying here. Note to local Marriott management - I would be glad to provide you with my contact information if you are interested in talking to me about these issues, and are also welcome to see the photos. Please repsond to this comment if you would like to talk with me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2PilotsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

On a road trip with two teens: We had a 2 bedroomed suite which afforded us space and a lovely water view. Breakfast and the managers' reception were ok. I think food should be protected more from insects etc. A few things were out of order such a a drying machine and computer but that may be just bad luck. I do recommend this hotel if you need space, however a couple or a smaller family may prefer to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowler62, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I have reviewed your comments and just wanted to update you on a couple of things. Since your stay, we have replaced all washers/dryers with brand new units in both of our guest laundry rooms. Also, repairs have been made on the computer in the business center. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Too, please note that Marriott has very strict breakfast set-up standards with how the food is presented/stored during breakfast and social hours. We follow these models closely to adhere to the Marriott standard, and I assure you that is very safe/sanitary. Thanks again for your time, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I will also echo what others have said about the misery of this place in the summer. While our room was pretty cool, the hallways and common areas were simply miserable. The smell when you enter was overwhelming. I'm not sure if it was mold or years of spilled beer, but it was bad.

We were orginally staying at this location for 6 weeks during our relocation to the area. However, the location simply did not work for a family trying to have a "normal" life while living in a hotel. Location is likely fine for a vacation but not close enough to daily living things for us. We moved after 8 days to the Residence Inn Airport and while the location was better, that location has some issues too. It was still a better option for a long term stay.

In addition to the location, there is limited parking and only one door that doesn't feature stairs. With my 1 and 3 year old and their stuff the stairs are a problem. So access was an issue for us. There were several nights many of the washer/dryers did not work and a few that the washers were fine but the dryers didn't work at all, leaving us with a basket full of wet clothes.

In the middle of the hot summer the pool was REALLY warm and it is hard to think the water quality was all that good. This place is jumping on the weekends so we usually chose to swim elsewhere.

I will disagree with the comments about the breakfast below. Unexceptable is the only words I have to describe it. I think yogurt and bananna are a breakfast staple and neithor were offered.

The one positive was the housekeeping staff they were fantastic. They were willing to make sure the room was cleaned while we were out with the kids in the morning and Shea made sure to make up my son's bed with his toy story stuff every day. He LOVED it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the3Jsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel is just over the bridge from historic Charleston. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath room with a full kitchen. TVs in all rooms. Even had a doorbell! Great complimentary breakfast each morning and a social in the evenings. One day we had hot dogs and burgers with beer and wine and punch (all complimentary). Everyone was helpful and friendly. Laundry on site also.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reteach36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We have stayed here twice -- once in December 2009 and just recently in August (3 nights). This Residence Inn has seen better days -- the furniture, TV's, etc. are all worn and not up-to-date. There is a HUGE problem with the airconditioning. The first room we were assigned, a 1-BR suite (room 407) was like a sauna. Called the front desk and was told to close the room -darkening drapes (we had already done that) and set the thermostat to about 70. It was already reading 80. We then went to dinner, only to return and find it unbearable. We asked for a different room -- much better (room 327) on the other side of the building.

The hallways seemed to be not air-conditioned. There was not a vent in the bathroom and the place really steamed up -- evident from the mold on the ceilings.

The business center was fine and private, but one of the 2 computers was broken and the printer was not working either.

On the "plus" side - the breakfast was just fine (and clean) and the evening "social experiences" were equally fine. One employee, Nicky, really worked in the evening to keep everyone happy. She is a gem.

The free evening shuttle to downtown Charleston is a great idea and guests love it.

HOWEVER, think twice about staying here in the summer months. Charleston is known to be super-hot in the summer, and your hotel should be a retreat from the heat, not an additional discomfort. We checked out a day early.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Not sure if this hotel is a winner in the winter, but you should avoid it when it's hot outside. The rooms are the traditional Residence Inn. Look, feel, style, all the same. The problem is the moisture/humidity. I have allergies and they act up around mold. THe hallways, rooms, gym, etc, were all miserable. My room and my co-workers room had no functioning a/c and were about 95 degrees inside. Naturally we complained, switched rooms, and had pretty much the same thing. My room was must and damp. There was mold growing on the ceiling. My throat started to hurt, but it was late in the evening, so we stayed. I wen't back downstairs to ask about the roms and the moisture, well the lady at the desk looked at me and said "It's hot out, what can I do about it?" No offer to try another room, some extra points, whatever. Just attitude. I love Marriott, I'm a Gold rewards member. I will not go back to this hotel. We were supposed to stay there for 8 days, but ended up checking out the next morning and moving over to the Renaissance in Downtown. There it was nice and comfy. Avoid this hotel if it's humid out. The need to clean the mold too. Even my co-worker had the exact same complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The location of this hotel, while not downtown, was very convenient to everything you might want to do in Charleston (5-10 minutes to the Visitors Center). The hotel staff was extremely hospitable and accommodating. They had printed directions available at the desk for all attractions, grocery stores, you name it, which made getting around a breeze (they always included return directions to the hotel). The breakfast was consistently good, and if the inside seating area was too crowded it was pleasant to sit out by the pool. The evening happy hour with food was also a nice treat. Most days we ate lunch in downtown Charleston, and by late afternoon were content to take advantage of happy hour and lounge at the pool. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite which gave us plenty of room for two adults and two teenagers of opposite sex (daughter got the bedroom, son slept on the sofa bed). All of the beds--especially the sofa bed--were older and not the most comfortable. When we complained about the sofa bed, the staff brought us a roll-away. Otherwise, the hotel was quite nice and very affordable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavyMom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.8 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £115 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing