We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel, great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
western ny state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel, great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Interesting that with Marriott, the more expensive the hotel, the less amenities you get.......no free in room wi-fi which is really annoying. Stay in a Fairfield and you get breakfast, coffee 24/7 and in room wi-fi. That said, Renaissance Hotels never disappoint as far as cleanliness, hospitality of the staff and the upscale decor. This hotel is in a great location for restaurants, shopping and walking around the historic district. It is also a quiet location located between King and Meeting Streets. Parking is in ramp garage just across the street and was $12/day, which isn't bad for city parking. The room we had was not particularly large but it was squeaky clean.
Charleston, itself, is charming. I was impressed with how clean the streets are compared to other big cities. Also, we felt very safe walking around in the evening. From mid-March to mid-April, there are tours of private gardens and houses. Would highly recommend...... Restaurants? OMG great ones everywhere.

Room Tip: The Marriott senior rate is always less than AAA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    382
    144
    50
    27
See reviews for
187
452
22
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights using Marriott points. The hotel is rather expensive and would have been out of our price range otherwise. The lobby area and bar were very nice and staff was very friendly and polite. The room was clean and comfortable. The linens were of good quality and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great. We walked everywhere. Shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance as is the harbor and museums. We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant. A little pricey but good. One night we had drinks and sandwiches in the bar. The hamburgers are very good. The waiter gave us some good information about the area. This hotel was in a nice quiet area on a side street. Parking was in a garage just across the street. We opted for the self parking at $12.00. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed at this wonderful hotel on our way back north. Spent 2 nights and it was a delightful experience. The staff made us feel so welcome on check in and our room was gorgeous.
My first time in Charleston so we were eager to see as much as we could. The concierge , Shawn, was most helpful in planning excursions as well as directing us to restaurants that were just what we wanted at the right time.
After we left Charleston and drove to DC, I realized I had left a drawful of clothing in Charleston. I called the hotel and they couldn't have been nicer. They found my clothes and Fed Exed them to my home so they were there on my arrival.
Our whole experience with this was nothing but pleasant. The location was wonderful for walking the city. I would give it an A plus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jweston20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Henry the bar man was very helpful giving recommendations on places to eat.
All the staff were helpful, only one computer in the business centre was a pain as we were travelling from Europe we didn't want to carry ours with us. It's ok for checking email. As with all hotels it was noisy with people checking out early talking in the corridors and banging doors and luggage noises.
Good central location Charleston is small so easy to walk everywhere well easy for Europeans anyway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTGRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Despite having a completely full house the evening prior, we were still able to check in early. We were given a quiet room, as requested. Room and bathroom were on the small side, but perfectly adequate for a city hotel. Everything was very clean. Pool area was very pleasant. All the bellmen and concierge staff were extremely helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

When we arrived we were met with a smiling and a very helpful staff. We told them it was our anniversary and while getting ready to go out to dinner they sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as an anniversary gift, very nice touch.

The room was clean but nothing extarordinary. The Hotel is on the North end of the Historic DIstrict so it was short walk to the Charleston Historic district.

The view from the room was of the roof top but how much time do you spend in a room with the curtains open.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigdaveAma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

This hotel is centrally located in historic Charleston. If you dont mind walking, you can park your car and walk anywhere you need to go. I walked down to Battery Park and back up East Bay (Rainbow Row) and it was long but beautiful. The staff was very helpful with directions. Valet parking is around $20 a day. You might save a few bucks doing it yourself. The best part of this hotel is the location. We had a nice stay but it is pricey.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legalbeagle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#22 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing