We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“great hotel, even better location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

we booked this hotel through priceline and were very, very pleased with our experience here. the location alone was worth double what we paid for it! you can walk around one corner past jestine's (an awesome southern kitchen) and hang a right and you're a short walk to the market and to the fabulous restaurants that line East Bay Street (see my other reviews!) , OR you can leave the hotel and head to the other corner and you're on King Street amidst some of the best shopping around. Hotel staff embodied southern hospitality at its finest and the check in and out process was seamless. Room was nice, beds were comfortable there was ample space. Only dislike was having to pay for internet access and parking. To park in the garage across the street was $12/day or valet parking was $19/day. OPT FOR THE VALET. So much easier, no hassel and if you're planning on hanging around downtown, there's no need to get your car in and out anyway. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for top corner room if available so you have a view of the harbor (or anything other than the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    383
    145
    51
    28
See reviews for
188
456
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We planned a romantic getaway to Charleston for Valentine's Day weekend. We chose to stay here based on the reviews and pictures on tripadvisor. Boy were we wrong in choosing this hotel. The hotel happened to book a sorority / fraternity bash the same weekend. People were screaming, slamming doors and partying until 4 am. The hotel did nothing to address this all night. We then had people screaming and banging on doors at 8:30 am. We paid almost $300 / night to go to an elegant, upscale hotel and we could have gone to a 2 star hotel and had the same experience. We spoke to the front desk in the morning and all they offered us was to relocate our room and downgrade us from a king bed to a room with two doubles for our second night. If the hotel is interested in hosting these types of functions in the future, they should at least confine the bash to one floor and not put other hotel guests right next to the partying rooms. Someone in management messed up big time and I for one will not be returning to this hotel. There are so many nice hotels in downtown Charleston. I would recommend staying somewhere else. If you do choose to pick this hotel, at least call and make sure they are not planning a fraternity / sorority bash while you are there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We booked the renaissance through priceline and were excited about the prospect of staying in such a nice hotel. The room was not as nice as we would have expected, however. The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls in the bathroom, the grout in the tub was mildewed, and the spaces between the door and door frame of the room could fit a large housefly. The bed was not as comfortable as other less-pricey hotels. The staff was unbelievably nice, however, and I think with a little remodeling, the hotel could be much better. They did a "turn down" service and left hand-painted chocolates and bottled water on the bedside table for us. It was a nice touch, but honestly, if we come to charleston again, I imagine we could stay at a cheaper hotel and get a comparable room. The location is excellent - very convenient, parking is easy (parking attendant of the garage was an angry old man, though), and hotel staff was helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTravellerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I staye here several times for both business and pleasure. The staff is always amazing from the front desk,, manager, valets, housekeeping...everyone! If you need anything, or even think you might need anything just ask. They're always there to recommend a place to eat, drink, walk to etc. The rooms, fitness center etc. are adequate and it's Charleston so you probably won't spend much time in it anyway. It's got a great location whether you want to walk down to the market or around the corner onto King St. to shop, you're close by. Price point wise, it's about the same as the others in this area (except Charleston Place) so worth the stop.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher corner room you can see out toward the harbor. Pay the extra few dollars to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great location. The concierge (called something else) was amazing. They set everything up for us. After speaking with them we cancelled all our reservations and went with the local suggestions. All the restaurants were fantastic. This is a town for foodies. Boat cruise, golf, beach, historic sites. All you could ever want. This hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location.

The one negative was the pepples surrounding the pool. You can't even walk in bare feet on them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I am on the road constantly for work - usually I hop from hotel to hotel, but I was fortunate enough to stay at the Renaissance for four nights in a row. the hotel is nice, comfortable, and with a location that cannot be beat...you are just steps from shops and restaurants.

but more impressive than the physical hotel is the amazing staff. from the front desk staffers to the managers to the bartenders to the bell hops - everyone bent over backwards to accomodate me. I honestly don't know as though I have ever been to a hotel where everyone with whom I dealt impressed me as exceedingly helpful.

For that reason, I would give this hotel the hightest rating. I will always try and stay here in the future...hopefully next time for pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper24nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel is perfectly located just off Charleston's famed shopping strip - King St. We stayed 2 nights here right after staying 2 nights at the Charleston Place hotel. My wife and I both preferred the Renaissance. Well worth the money. Rooms were clean, spacious and modern. Bed was extremely comfortable!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drs911sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing