We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Charleston. Upon arrival, the valet was quick to greet me and the bellman was quick to gather my baggage. Entering the hotel, the lobby was beautiful and the front desk staff was quick and effecient. The room itself was nicely decorated, nothing special, your normal hotel room. The bedding was comfortable. The fitness room was well equipted with the most up to date machines and had plenty of free weights. The roof top pool was very clean and had plenty of seating around the pool. The pool itself was a lap pool.
This hotel is in an excellent location for sight seeing and for shopping. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Valet Parking is $19 per day Self Parking $12 per day. The parking garage is directly across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    383
    145
    51
    28
See reviews for
188
456
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I visited Charleston for her birthday weekend and decided to book at the Renaissance Charleston with our AAA discount. The hotel was average to very good. The hotel room was spacious, clean and updated. My wife liked the Avieda products they had in the bathroom and I enjoyed the nice (not brinck hard) towels and sheets etc. The King size bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. Although it sucked that we had to pay for parking the parking garage is right across the street from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made the trip enjoyable.


The location of the hotel is what made it all worth it. The Renaissance is not even a block away from all of the shops, resturants and bars. Although we did not eat at the hotel (we like to get out when we are on vacations) the food looked reasonably priced. The hotel was definietly a safe bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINGGARRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We traveled to Charleston for a family wedding and we had decided to take the amtrak train. We arrived at the hotel at 5:06am after an 11 1/2 hour ride and way before our check in time. When we got there we explained to the front desk and we were given a complimentary room to rest and shower before our room was ready at noon. The hotel was beautiful and in a great location to walk all around Charleston. We loved the area and the hotel and would have loved to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyb326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Hotel is a nice enough place, a bit over priced, but thats Marriot. It is not easy getting in and out. They missplaced my car keys causing us to waite 10 minutes extra for our car before we could go out for Dinner. I had a king size bed that slep like a bed of stone, very hard, did not sleep good. Not tipical Merriot.Slept in the ugly chair some. Thermostat located in a corner behind a heavy, ugly chair. Towels were a little scratchy, mildew in grout joints between tub and commode. Did not care for paying $14.00 for Wi-Fi. My Wi-Fi did not work, System overload.
Dinning Room for Breakfast! Don't go! Typical Cheap Buffet, Scrambled Eggs were hard and dry, out of bacon, Biscuits were very hard, out of potatos, Grits looked like milk water. Something that looked like chipped beef, tasted like corned beef hash with milk in it, non eatable. Waiter has to bring you juice and coffee. Brings out coffee in a IHOP Carraffe with two cups in it.No salt or pepper on the table, no sugar on the table, the oatmeal could be used as concreat. over all, Don't eat in their Dinning Room. Breakfast bill three Buffet meals + a waffel was $69.00. This within itself is outrage. This food is not near as good as a free Breakfast Bar at a real cheap Motel. It can't compare to a Hampton Inn or Druy Inn.

Room Tip: Sak for one hi up on Back side of Hotel. ou get a view of the area and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is beautiful and we had no complaints with the staff, but drinks at the hotel bar are very very expensive. Save somemoney and pack your own drinks for your room (we had a mini fridge). We were there for Thanksgiving and walked everywhere. The hotel is located within walking distance of some great restaurant, bars and prime shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sikesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I needed a quick get away and Charleston is definitely a romantic city. The Renaissance is in a perfect location, walking distance to restaurants and it is just off King Street, the major shopping hub. Reed at the front desk is awesome! The staff is very helpful and always nice to deal with. If we needed anything, coffee, towels and yes, even bath robes....they were quick to answer the call.

Charleston was especially nice this time of the year. Just after Thanksgiving and no crowds! Restaurants easy to get into and traffic was a breeze. We will definitely return same time next year! Lord willing of course:-)

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms....tend to be larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I am not sure why this property is rated in the middle of th pack for Charleston. While it might not be the luxurious boutique type that are popular in town, it seems to have everything you would want. Wife and I stayed 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. It is really in the center of just about all of the prime dining locations and shops along King Street. While the room was not very large, it was comfortable. But like other cities such as San Fran, NYC, Boston, etc you don't need to spend too much time in your room. Lounge and breakfast were more than adequate.This was our first visit to town and we really enjoyed the vibe and beauty of this colonial town. The Renaissance was the perfect choice for us. I was also quite impressed with the College of Charleston a couple of blocks away. We will be back to Charleston and to Renaissance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhbobdct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing