We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Go To" spot in historic Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Third trip here for business. Have stayed anywhere from a week to 6 weeks and the service is consistent and gracious. Rooms are "classic" however the bed spreads could use updating. Carpeting, upholstry, bathroom, etc. in my room (230) were spotless except for a spent wooden matchstick (in a non-smoking rm) that remained for 4 days by the balcony door until I threw it away. Rooms do not have refrigerators but for a long term stay you can usually negotiate a better deal than thier initial offer for just weekend guests, It's delievered on a room service cart. TV's are NOT flat screen but not a big deal since I watch little TV. My room was quiet and it's balcony overlooked Market St. which provided a view of the adjacent tourist street. Lobby is breathtaking with its chandelier and spiral staircases. Lastly, one of the best features...location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. They're small allowing walkout only but it's great to step out and see Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New_Month_New_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear New_Month_New_Trip,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Charleston Place. There is no greater compliment than repeat business! And thanks for taking the time to review your experience at the hotel. Feedback from our guests is valuable, so I really appreciate you posting these comments. You will be glad to hear that we're in the process of upgrading certain aspects of our guest rooms, including our TVs in order to provide our guests with the best experience. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you to your "Go To" spot in the future.

Warm regards,

Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,883 - 2,889 of 3,334 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was the best hotel stay I have ever experienced. We stayed on the club level and enjoyed it. The concierge even hadva bottle of champagne waiting for us at dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Fell in love with Charleston and with the hotel. The horel is spectacular and deserving of it's five stars. Staff were amazing, know you name, deliver excellent, friendly service, amazing food. Charleston is an easily walkable city if you stay in the main area. Must-do's are Fort Sumter tour; walk through Broad Street to see the houses; walk to the Battery; hit the market; see the submarine; wander through the graveyards for a history lesson; check out the Confederate Museum (amazing) and eat just about anywhere as all the restaurants I tried were superb. Wished I would have had much longer and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Got a great deal through expedia for a 5 star hotel. Check all the discounters for a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsychom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Patsychom,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Charleston Place during your recent visit to Charleston! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to deliver great service and make every guest's stay a memorable one. Hearing feedback about your stay is certainly appreciated. It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring the city. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the charleston place , I have to say it was an excellent hotel , only staff I really had contact with were the porters and the lady who ran the bar in the evening , and they were all fabulous , very friendly and great service , it was very hot in charleston and the aircon was brilliant. Overall had a great stay and the breakfast and afternoon tea were very good

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel was very nice. It’s the kind of place that does a turn down service and leaves a different goodie on your pillow each night. This is a fairly large hotel. I felt like it took forever to walk to and from the elevator.
But it’s a great location in the city. The wi-fi worked well the whole time we were there once we got the password, which they forget to give us at check-in. I felt like the front desk folks weren't the best. The concierge was great as were the door guys. When checking out we asked if taxis would be available when we needed to go to the airport and we were told by the front desk that they would be there. There were no taxis when we had to leave but one of the door guys called a company for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcitykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Charleston Place it is an Amazing hotel, the location is excellent, you can walk everywhere. The Hotel is gorgeous as well, the staff so friendly. Specially the Concierge, very knowledgeable about the city. The Club Level is a must, great food and drinks all day!
If you are looking for a authentic southern experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Club Level Up Grade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank André X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overpriced, rude staff, not worth the high price tag in any way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kll46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,026 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,968 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £245 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing