We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend-- even with kiddies!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend-- even with kiddies!”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We scheduled a romantic staycation-- had sitter issues-- ended up bringing the kids with us- luxury is not the only word that describes this hotel! Amazing time will do again in a heartbeat! Hated to leave-- kids had music this am-- had to go-- but will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the club level for amazing treats and a wonderful bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    551
    244
    108
    54
See reviews for
593
1,282
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here in the end of august with one of my friends.

Pros: hotel is absolutely beautiful, great lobby, there is a mini mall in the hotel and the restaurant in the hotel is simple, good food for breakfast. the concierge is amazing, the most helpful concierge i have ever experienced at a hotel... they give out direction cards to everywhere you want to go and literally cannot wait to help you. amazing location. this is in the center of everything- you don't need a car at all (if you're staying downtown).

Cons: there werent many. oddly enough, we had NO cold water, it was terrible. we called and complained and were told "We're in downtown charleston..." hmmm ok, i guess thats a valid reason? Also, the rooms were dated... huge clunky tv in an armoire that breaks the whole room in half and a tacky huge shower curtain/drapes thing that you know has never been washed...

overall, i would come back and stay here because of the staff and location. but they need to update the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsa580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Charleston Grill and Charleston Place Resort are worthy of every accolade available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSpearsGreenville_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My family and I stayed at the Charleston Hotel because it was listed as a fine hotel from American Express. The front staff was rude to us, when we checked in. The reservation was not exactly as I was told to on the phone and instead of trying to fix it, they blamed for asking for special accomendations that I had requested when making the reservation and being told it would not be a problem at all. Our rooms weren't ready even though it was after four. They ignored the customer in line behind me even though there were people behind the desk just chatting with each other. The mens' spa was under construction and they didnt bother to mention that to us when we made our reservation, so there wasnt either the sauna or showers etc in the men;s locker rooom. When I went to sit by the pool, they were out of towels. The breakfast that came with the room was very good and the service there was excellent. On the other hand when we tried the bar for lunch it was a different story. I can honestly say I have had better food at mall food court than what they served us and charged me almost $80 for a family of four for chicken tenders and sandwiches. Would not stay here again and can honestly say I would never recommend it either. The hotel is pretty but overall the service would not be acceptable in a three star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cktravelerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear cktravelerla,

Thank you for your recent review of Charleston Place. Although I am sorry your stay was less than satisfactory, I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. I wish I had the opportunity to address this while you were on property. I have shared your comments with the departments you mentioned in order to prevent these issues in the future. Thanks again for your thoughtful feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have stayed on the Concierge/Club floor of this hotel approximately ten times in the last 12 months. Imagine how unappreciated I felt when I just requested the hotel waive a two night stay minimum when I requested a reservation for a November visit. My daughter just enrolled at the College of Charleston and I will be visting often as the food and service I have experienced in the past has been excellent. Yes the rooms are a little dated... but that is part of the Southern charm.

I have requested that Lucy Franklin who is the "Luxury Service Coordinator (the person who denied my request) provide me with the General Managers (Paul Stracey's) contact info to request that he honor my request. We'll see if she gives it to me? Or just ignores it?

Room Tip: Stay on the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Clark K.,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent email exchange with Lucy
Franklin. I am glad a member of team was able to speak with you by phone so that we
could better understand your needs. We look forward to having you as
our guest for your stay in November. We take pride in being a "second
home" for the parents of our local college students. In the future if there is
anything you need, please don't hesitate to call me directly at 843-722-4900.
Thank you for your continued business at Charleston Place.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is the only property listed with my premier travel program in Charleston, so we decided to give it a try. It was a great choice ... not super luxurious or five star quality, but a good, solid four star selection. It was very convenient for a city tour and was perfectly located for visiting with our family at the College of Charleston. The rooms are comfortable, with older style decor and selections ... exactly what we expected for a historic, downtown Charleston hotel. We had a junior suite with a king bed and a small sitting area. Bathrooms are not an updated style - fixtures were newer, but we had a tub/shower combination in a small space. We had a courtyard view in our suite, however my sister had a room that overlooked the main (King) street. We all agreed that it was more desirable to have the beautiful city view to watch the activity below, even though there might have been more street noise. The halls were already a bit noisy, so if this is a concern - you might want to request a room away from the elevators and at the end of a hall. Overall, this is a great choice for downtown Charleston, as there are few other options available in this category. If you want a more luxurious property, you would need to take a 35-45 minute ride to the Sanctuary at Kiawah Island. For a city stay, I would recommend Charleston Place.

Room Tip: Suites offer a lot of extra square footage, so ask for or book the upgrade. Rooms on the street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilloutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel and staff were nice. Concierge was not very helpful and gave us incorrect information twice...seemed too busy to pay attention to our requests. I think overall the room and service were nice but they could provide more attention to their guests. I personally don't like all the shops in my hotel and prefer more of a boutique hotel ~ something smaller with more character and charm. Parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing