We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, beautiful location!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Charleston, look no further. Charleston Place is so beautiful inside its massive lobby with winding staircase. Great options for food, shopping. Out one door you are on King Street which is a great place to shop or eat. Out another door you are at the Market. Again, all the shopping and restaurants you could ever want, and walking distance to the amazing Charleston harbor.

The rooms are well appointed, very clean, great bedding, and service at your fingertips. If you care to splurge and stay on the Club level, you will not be disappointed. You will have need of nothing!

The staff is so friendly, professional, and ready to assist in any way. It is a great place for any type of visit, but especially a romantic getaway in a romantic city!

Room Tip: The higher you are, you may be able to see the harbor. Always great to be able to catch the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedreamweavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    564
    249
    109
    54
See reviews for
619
1,319
69
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Dec 2011 weekend getaway, second visit to Charleston Place. Old-world style and charm-Location is KEY and it doesn't get much better in Charleston. Walk out the door and explore the city by foot during the day, wonderful dining options are available within walking distance in the evening (Charleston Grill is located in the lobby). A small shopping area on the first floor offers national retailer boutique-style shopping.

Check out Henry's for nightlife (bar area on the first floor with a nightclub upstairs)-ANY restaurant will be good but we enjoyed CYPRESS and MERCATO this trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We found blood stains on two pillows. We called the front desk and got several replacement pillows, but no apology or call from the manager, which one would expect. We have stayed at top hotels. When there are problems, the manager gets involved, apologies are given, and some compensation is offered. This hotel obviously needs some better management attention!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location. It is very hectic and the restaurants are extremely overpriced. There is nothing special about the hotel. Its very cookie cutter and the service leaves a lot to be desired. Do not accept a room near the laundry room. The staff hangs out there and they leave their walkie talkies on and its really irritating to hear.

Room Tip: Away from the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Intrepidtraveler53,

Thank you sharing feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your accommodations. Our holiday decorations and train are very popular among local families and out of town guests. For that reason, the lobby is a bit busier this time of year. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Did you bring the noise issue to the attention of our front desk or management team? Our team is empowered to do anything necessary to ensure that every guest is comfortable with all aspects of their stay. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel looks beautiful on the outside. It's actually on the list of "places to see" in Charleston and is very centrally located but as a place to stay, I was not overly impressed. I'd probably consider it a 3 1/2 star. There is no free wifi or wifi at all actually even though I thought I had read that somewhere. The rooms were rather drab. The doors make a big bang sound that you hear through your door so you end up being up or waking up anytime someone comes into or leaves their room. Also, nothing special done for the dog i.e. no bowl, treat, etc---though that wasn't too important.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Attended large conference at hotel. Service was top notch. Yes, the rooms may need some updating which I understand is going to happen (as in old tv) but the overall comfort was great- bed very comfortable and I like the old style southern decor. Concierge top notch with reservations, directions. I even called in from touring, told him what corner I was on and wanted outdoor seating for lunch and he told me look up and found me the perfect rooftop spot! Bell staff, laundry, room service very attentive. Location fantastic for all things Charleston. Handling of large conference and food was great. Wait staff very attentive at very huge dinners and lunches for over a thousand people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Folkgroupie,

Thank you for for taking the time to review your recent stay at Charleston Place. It is always good to hear positive feedback from our guests. We love hosting conferences and take pride in providing service that exceeds expectations. I am glad that you enjoyed your time exploring the city and that we could help point you in the right direction. There are so many wonderful things to do in Charleston, and we look forward to suggesting some new places on your next visit.

In regard to the televisions, you will be happy to know that we are upgrading to flat screen televisions that include an on demand movie program this month. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. of

Kind regards,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was my first trip to Charleston and I was pleasantly surprised for a hotel that was a few more dollars than a typical hotel chain. This hotel was well located in the middle of town making most places within a few minutes walk. The staff was great and the hotel was opulent. The indoor pool was located in an isolated spa area which kept a control on the sound. I need to state I did not stay on the club level.

If you plan to eat in the hotel, plan to seriously splurge. I found myself going across the street for breakfast. There are numerous restaurants nearby for lunch or dinner. I also found myself paying for a simple cup of coffee in a little coffee bar in the lobby.

I will be going back and will check into the club level to see if the additional cost is worth it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony that allows the windows to be open during the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,738 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing