We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Flair with Luxurious Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What could be finer than to feel the warmth of the south mixed with the elegance and luxury of the Orient Express hotels. The hotel is a few steps off of the main road in Charleston, so if you blink you could miss the entrance...which was actually terrific, giving it a very private and exclusive entry with fountain. The bellmen were extremely helpful, check in was smooth, etc.
The lobby was gorgeous with the bright day time restaurant in sight along with the rich, dark bar...very inviting but I didn't have time for a cocktail.
Many corporate types wandering around the lobby, as well as obvious tourists...all going in various directions, as it turns out, there are several entrances to the lobby.
Four stars instead of five? The restaurant. I'm a foodie and used to the best. We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel and were underwhelmed each time. Chef attempts to make every dish creative...but the flavors didn't come together nor did the way the dishes were enhanced. The presentation was beautiful, service perfect, but each dish raised eyebrows and we were left wondering "why"?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineDineDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,691 - 2,697 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

The staff of this hotel personifies SERVICE. They are warm, accomodating and make unending efforts to assist guests. We arrived a day earlier than our reservation stated, and a lovely young woman immediately had our room available. Like all the staff, she was a wealth of information to make our stay in the city as enjoyable as possible

The hotel is luxurious without being stuffy. It is in the absolute heart of the historic district, close to the Market, restaurants, the Dock Street Theater, and the praline shops. We left our car in the provided parking lot (small charge) and walked everywhere. The hotel has many amenities, some of which we expected, but some of which were a delightful surprise.

Charleston is a magnificent city...one worth repeated visits...which we will definitely do. You can bet we will stay at Charleston Place each time we visit the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnookyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel was lovely. Rooms were well appointed and lobby was nice too. Liked perusing the shops as well. Concierge was knowledgeable and helpful. Parking garage was convenient too.
I loved the sun roof where I relaxed with my niece and enjoyed the beautiful late afternoon sun.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgottlieb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Sgottlieb51,

I wanted to reach out to thank you for your recent visit to Charleston Place, as well as posting a review of your experience at the hotel. I'm pleased to read that you and your niece enjoyed a relaxing visit to Charleston and that you were satisfied with your rooms and the service you received from our concierge. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our rooftop pool. It's one of our guests' favorite features of the hotel and a hidden gem in downtown Charleston.

Thanks again for choosing to stay at Charleston Place. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

very elegant hotel in heart of Charleston..walk to most all sites and shopping..great place for meetings

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I am currently staying at Charleston Place and must admit i am disappointed.
For an upmarket hotel with high prices, there are many things wrong.
For example the room: Shower pressure is terrible, lighting is so bad that it is nearly impossible to read a newspaper at night ( i am not a youngster any more and lighting is important). The TV reception is very poor and some stations are subject to all sorts of visual distortions. My TV is not new, so it might be the TV. There is no coffee maker in the room, so if you want coffee early in the morning you have to call room service or go down to the lobby to get it. I did complain but was told that's how it has been for some time.
Last night i had dinner in the Charleston Grill. The food was good but i waited nearly an hour for it. They comped the meal, but the damage was done.
Save your money stay somewhere else that is better value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MHepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear MPHepworth,

Thanks for your recent visit to Charleston Place, and taking time to share a review of your experience. While it's not always easy to read negative feedback, it is extremely helpful as we continue to look for opportunities to improve our hotel product and the service we provide guests. I'm extremely sorry for the issues your experienced during your stay, but am happy that you were able to speak with a member of our team to address your concerns. You'll be pleased to know that all of the TVs in our guest rooms are currently being replace with new flat-screen units.

Thanks again for your business and sharing this review.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were lucky to get a group discount so we did not pay the full price. This being said our room was ok. It needed touch up paint on the walls, more storage or table in the sparce bathroom, bed seemed to have valleys in it. Pillow selection was a little upsetting, so bring your own pillow. The asked for more and they all seemed thick and not very flat. Other than our room the hotel is great. Very good location, no problems with loud hallways while we slept, amazing room service and the in hotel resturant was very good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollTide13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Charleston Place Hotel is a wonderfully complete package of food, fun & relaxation. With a fine dining restaurant, a less formal option, a morning coffe shop and a nighttime jazz lounge, what more do you need? But, bring your walking shoes, because this great hotel is located in the heart of a wonderfully historic city. Walk to the battery, passing by gracious historic homes, or stay close by the hotel and enjoy the shopping on Kng Street. Take the boat out to Ft. Sumter and be escorted back by dolphins playing in the bay. Great hotel in a great city!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bking222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,883 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £225 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing