We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I loved our suite (4f). It had a large sitting room with a wet bar. There was a table and chairs with a comfy (pullout) couch. The bedroom was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had a huge tub and shower

The wifi was a bit iffy (we were told it was being fixed).

The location of the hotel is near shops and restaurants, easily within a block to walk.

The restaurant downstairs where we had breakfast was great. Bonita (sp?) our server was right on recommendations and so friendly. The food was incredible

What a great trip, though one night was clearly not enough

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleWildcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    551
    244
    108
    53
See reviews for
592
1,280
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on the club floor. This hotel has an amazing location and wonderful amenities. The room was large and clean. The staff was accommodating. The location was in the center of the shopping district, walking distance from most restaurants and sites and the college. By staying on the club floor, we eliminated the need to buy snacks and drinks. There is always a nice buffet (breakfast, appetizers, desserts) throughout the day. The best thing though was the availability of free beverages (bottled water, soft drinks and wine/beer/mixed drinks) free of charge. I was unsure whether the upgrade was worth it, but it definitely paid for itself. Be sure to take a break and enjoy the beautiful pool and terrace while there. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Room Tip: Club floors are on 7 and 8 and accessible by room key
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtlemom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Charleston Place is a lovely hotel. The pool with the retractable roof was fantastic, the location cannot be beat, and the rooms are elegant and comfortable. I was not a huge fan of the shower/bath combo as I prefer a glass shower, but the current design is consistent with the style of the hotel. You will pay for the experience-- in my case, $410/night-- but you are in the perfect Charleston location and this is a lovely property when one is in the mood for a splurge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnAGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Charleston Place. It has the charm and feel of a much smaller hotel, but all the amenities of a large hotel. After its charm, the location is its next best quality. It is right near the market and just about anything else you might want to visit. I walked everywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, definite Southern hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmiller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and it was a great exexperience and clean place to stay...front desk people were friendly and eager to help you enjoy your stay and the Location was perfect! Never ate in any of hotels restaurants but did have drink in bar...nice ambience! Everything that you would want to do was within walking distance or you could catch a pedi cab! Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay on the concierge floor. They wined and fines us from morning to night. Literally. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms large with great amenities. Food in te restaurants also great. Wonderful Southern hospitality.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for one night last week and we loved our experience. What an enchanting hotel! The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. The bathroom - tub & shower - to die for! They have Gilchrist & Soames bath products. Everything seems brand new. The lobby and shops are gorgeous. The pool area is wonderful, with a skylight and outdoor seating area.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location is right on Meeting Street close to everything.

Room Tip: We faced King Street and had a wonderful room on the 4th floor, same as spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing