We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Meeting Street Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,451)
Filter reviews
3,451 results
Traveller rating
2,412
592
262
125
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,412
592
262
125
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpalmetto cafethoroughbred clubretractable roofbeautiful hotelrenovated roomluxury hotelthe location is perfectsouthern charmjunior suiterooftop poolking streetbell staffthe concierge levelturn down servicefitness centerheart of downtown
Filter
Updating list...
2,228 - 2,233 of 3,451 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The pillows in the rooms are horrible even after requesting new ones that were supposed to be softer.

Staff could be a little more welcoming at the door.

Lots of construction taking place inside hotel....noisy! Also my AC/Heat seemed to be malfunctioning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Jay S,

While we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel's appearance, we are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We are installing new furniture and we apologize if this caused any disturbance during your stay. As for the air-conditioning and heating unit, we do have engineers available 24 hours a day for maintenance issues just like this. Though we are disappointed your stay was not what you anticipated, we do appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I expected a lot more luxury from an Orient Express property. This hotel was on par with a 3-star hotel, at best. It is outdated and the rooms, in particular, need a major refresh. The quality of the accommodations are not reflective of the price point. You will not get your money's worth at this property. On a positive note, the service was quite good. Until a renovation has occurred, we will not be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mica_Puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The Charleston Place was the perfect place to stay for a long weekend in Charleston. It is situated in the perfect place downtown with easy access to the market and harbor and lots of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The spa,pool, and fitness center were added bonuses. We enjoyed our stay very much and definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Every time I visit Charleston, I make it a point to stay here. You're in the heart of historic downtown Charleston, yet only 10-15 minutes from Folly beach, as well as Isle of Palms, and Sullivan's island. I'm originally from Charleston, so I frequently visit. Every time I come to this hotel, it's always a positive experience. From the staff, to the restaurants, to the rooms, it is all amazing. These guys are the best of the best. Not only in Charleston, but in the entire country. I say that as a frequent traveler. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. In fact, my sister recently married here in the ball room, and the staff made it an amazing event. You can't say one thing bad about this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on club level(8th floor). There is a bar with snacks(including some Charleston seafood). Perfect for business travels, when you just want to unwind at the end of the day.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stayed at the Charleston Place Hotel numerous times and each time has been an awesome experience. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff have always been courteous and go the extra miles, the restaurants are outstanding, and the location is the best ever. It is located right in the center of Charleston's downtown area, convenient to numerous restaurants and across the street from the Charleston market place. I'll stay here every time I'm in Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickildavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews