We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My companion and I was in town for the Spoleto Festival and choose Charleston Place for our 4 day stay....and I'm glad we did. The room was clean, simple, but elegant. It is located in the heart of downtown Charleston on Meeting Street, with shops, restaurants and the battery all within walking distance. Luxury shops...Gucci, Godiva... and restuarants are located just a a few steps downstairs. The Thoroughbred Restaurant was wonderful for late night drinks at the bar. The satff was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The spa was available but we did not have a chance to book a visit...yoo busy enjoying the sights. Loved Charleston Place and looking forward to a return visit in 2014 for the Spoleto Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrat236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,214)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Charleston Place presents a combination of old-world charm as well as up-to-date accommodations. The newly redecorated rooms are beautiful. The service is the very best. Friendly staff plus very helpful. The food can't be beat anywhere. The hotel's location is perfect for walking to other restaurants and many lovely stores and shops, several churches, and even a lot of historical sites. This hotel helps you enjoy the history and charm of Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have long enjoyed stopping at the Charleston Place on the way to Kiawah for the holidays, but this year we arrived a bit earlier than usual at noon, and were disappointed that we had to kill 4 hours walking and shopping before the room was ready...certainly not a hardship, but since we were rushed out by noon the next day, there wasn't a great deal of time to relax and enjoy the experience. There was time for a pedicure, and my daughter enjoyed the pool, but overall not worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel has an amazing location which is central to most activities in Charleston. Our family particularly loved the Christmas decorations and the impressive Christmas village in the center of the lobby.

The rooms are beaurtifully decorated and the spa and pool are fantastic. We particularly appreciated the services of Rick the principal concierge!

Dinner at Charleston Grill was over the top: however they need a dress code. We had an almost $1000 dinner and there was a man in a white wife-beater undershirt. Not impressed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I will sneak off to Charleston Place every opportunity we get. We like to splurge and book The Club, so its always like a little mini vaca. Many members of the staff recognize and welcome us back each time. As a little extra, we are greeted with snacks and a special drink in room when we book two nights. Take advantage of staff and concerierge tips and recomendations. They will never steer you wrong. We love Charleston Place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Service from everyone was exceptional, Christmas decorations were beautiful, Club Level food and drinks were amazing. We brought our bicycles and they stored them for us and gladly got them out multiple times. The bar is lovely and the Charleston Grill is to die for. Shout out to ya Nicole! 5 Star!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

....the most wonderful time and place this year! Charleston Place delivers on all aspects for travel - accommodations, value & attention to detail. What's more amazing is how nice their staff is. Given the constant activity of their lobby (Christmas display), they maintain the highest level of service, friendliness and wonderful Holiday attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £251 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing