We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Charleston Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,378)
Filter reviews
3,378 results
Traveller rating
2,356
587
256
121
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,356
587
256
121
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpalmetto cafethoroughbred clubretractable roofbeautiful hotelrenovated roomroom serviceluxury hotelsouthern charmjunior suiterooftop poolking streetbell staffthe concierge levelturn down servicefitness centerheart of downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,125 - 2,130 of 3,378 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here one summer and it is truly the best hotel in the world. I hope one day to revisit. The service is out of this world and when we went they allowed pets and our yorkie was treated like a queen. Her own bed, treats, we felt very comfortable leaving her in the room when we went out. The staff took great care. The location is superb. Great for honeymoons, girls weekend, and a relaxing weekend. I truly hope we get to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AreWeThereYet3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Charleston place, and they were very accommodating with our dog. $95 one time charge for the dog, which is a little high but fine, and you are not eligible to stay on the "club" level with the dog, but otherwise no restrictions. Great location in the thick of everything (we barely used our car).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were impressed with Charleston Place from the time I called and talked to the reservationist to driving up to check in. The overall friendliness of the whole staff will bring us back again to this lovely hotel in Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was highly disappointed that my request to have the pack and play set up in the room was not honored despite calling ahead to make the hotel aware of our extremely late arrival because of plane delays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Namrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Namrita K,

We are sorry to hear that your pack and play was not set up ahead of time for your room, but we hope you enjoyed the one that was provided after your arrival. We apologize for any inconvenience, and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here as part of a very large conference group around New Year's 2013-2014. We definitely would come back here if we were coming to Charleston and recommend it highly for those looking for a top-tier hotel, in terms of location, infrastructure, service. It is not inexpensive by any means but we felt we got good value for the price.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and drew many visitors for the miniature train display. as well as for the luxury-goods shopping available in the adjoining arcades. It felt very safe, nonetheless.

Our room was fine. It had been newly redone and so there were a few glitches (Elsafe needed initializing as did the TV) but those were handled cheerfully and effectively, literally in minutes. The king bed was amazingly comfortable and the TV was brand-new. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower (no tub) and ample vanity and storage areas. The only slight negative was that the room lights were a little dim for reading.

The location was ideal for walking to any of the sights in town--aquarium, Fort Sumter trips, historic homes, waterfront, market..no need for a car unless you are driving anyway or want to rent one for a day to sightsee outside town.

The staff, from front desk to housekeeping to concierge were great. Friendly, cheerful, efficient, effective. Everyone made us feel they truly appreciated our business and were glad we were staying there. (You might think, well of course, but we have stayed in places at similar price points where staff acted like they were doing you a favor...)

The concierge, Larry, did a patient and creative job exploring options for us to sight-see on New Year's Day (many things closed, car rentals complicated) and his recommendation for Linda Sanders' private tour (her company is
www.charlestonsctours.com) was spot on and we had a great afternoon with her (see my review). We used Marquis Limos for the airport transfers and they were excellent, well worth the premium over taxi fare.

The day we arrived, we had lunch at one of the hotel restaurants--Thoroughbred Club, the bar. We had she-crab soup and crabcakes and champagne; these were very good, but quite expensive per item, compared to other restaurants in town (82 Queen, Husk, Cypress).

The real stars of the show for our stay were the banquet/catering staff. Our group was huge (filled the hotel) and we all ate during a 60-90 minute window, with most people showing up right at the start. Serving hot, fresh, delicious food on buffet lines to some 1400 people is no easy thing to do, but Charleston Place did it and did it well. They clearly are expert at logistics, opening additional lines as the crowd grew, replenishing items, etc. They were also very attentive clearing away used plates and cutlery, replenishing beverages, etc. Plus, the food was delicious...far and away surpassing most "conference food" I've had. They had their own pastry chef, and each lunch and dinner had different desserts, rolls,etc. Great attention to detail, and done with a smile. First-rate event management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews