We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went this place for a honeymoon and they upgraded the room to a suite room.
We stayed here over the Christmas holidays.
This must be the the most upscaled, luxurious hotel in this area.
There are several stores inside, leading to the heart of the King street or Market street (local market).
If you have a car, parking fee was about $15 / day in the garage -- they called this as self parking -- it would me more expensive if you go with valet parking.
Concierge service was also good, they were friendly to recommend activities and restaurants.
I would like to visit again this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    551
    244
    108
    53
See reviews for
592
1,280
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a getaway to Charleston and stayed at the Charleston Place. In brief: Great location - really can't be beat for wandering around the historic downtown area. Very nice service - personable and helpful. Great swimming pool and more than adequate fitness area (better than most!).
A couple little glitches (room wouldn't lock, no newspaper, nothing big) - these were addressed quickly and professionally. The room we had was really the drawback. The rooms are nice and decorated traditionally for the Charleston area - but really not interesting at all - but functional. The walls are paper thin (as I've seen in other reviews). Could hear our neighbors talking like they were in our room. I felt bad about trying to get them to quiet down as they were only talking but we were traveling with two little ones and it was midnight. Not really surprising I guess for an older building - but I bought earplugs the next day (which is atypical for me) and slept much better. The room was also on the second floor which should be fine - but it was essentially an interior room (window/small patio opened into a very narrow space surrounded by the rest of the building) so their was no sunlight and the lighting in the room was pretty dim. Felt a bit like a cave. When my daughter dropped something small I had to get out my iPhone flashlight to look for it - then I found an old make-up brush, a safety pin, some clothes tags from a prior guest, etc.
If you just need a room to get into late and sleep - bring your earplugs, enjoy the pool (again it was really nice), expect dry good service, and enjoy the location.

Room Tip: high floor (top two floors are club level, maybe the fourth or fifth floor will get you some sunligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear tarheelgirl39,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed most of your stay including our location in the heart of downtown, personable staff, and pool and fitness center. We are sorry that there were portions of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We do have several different room configurations, in the future if you are unhappy with your room, please let the front desk know and if there is availability they will be more than happy to move you to a room that better suits you. Though we are sorry there were aspects of your stay you were not happy with, we do appreciate your positive and constructive feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here one summer and it is truly the best hotel in the world. I hope one day to revisit. The service is out of this world and when we went they allowed pets and our yorkie was treated like a queen. Her own bed, treats, we felt very comfortable leaving her in the room when we went out. The staff took great care. The location is superb. Great for honeymoons, girls weekend, and a relaxing weekend. I truly hope we get to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AreWeThereYet3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Charleston place, and they were very accommodating with our dog. $95 one time charge for the dog, which is a little high but fine, and you are not eligible to stay on the "club" level with the dog, but otherwise no restrictions. Great location in the thick of everything (we barely used our car).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were impressed with Charleston Place from the time I called and talked to the reservationist to driving up to check in. The overall friendliness of the whole staff will bring us back again to this lovely hotel in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was highly disappointed that my request to have the pack and play set up in the room was not honored despite calling ahead to make the hotel aware of our extremely late arrival because of plane delays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Namrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Namrita K,

We are sorry to hear that your pack and play was not set up ahead of time for your room, but we hope you enjoyed the one that was provided after your arrival. We apologize for any inconvenience, and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here as part of a very large conference group around New Year's 2013-2014. We definitely would come back here if we were coming to Charleston and recommend it highly for those looking for a top-tier hotel, in terms of location, infrastructure, service. It is not inexpensive by any means but we felt we got good value for the price.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and drew many visitors for the miniature train display. as well as for the luxury-goods shopping available in the adjoining arcades. It felt very safe, nonetheless.

Our room was fine. It had been newly redone and so there were a few glitches (Elsafe needed initializing as did the TV) but those were handled cheerfully and effectively, literally in minutes. The king bed was amazingly comfortable and the TV was brand-new. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower (no tub) and ample vanity and storage areas. The only slight negative was that the room lights were a little dim for reading.

The location was ideal for walking to any of the sights in town--aquarium, Fort Sumter trips, historic homes, waterfront, market..no need for a car unless you are driving anyway or want to rent one for a day to sightsee outside town.

The staff, from front desk to housekeeping to concierge were great. Friendly, cheerful, efficient, effective. Everyone made us feel they truly appreciated our business and were glad we were staying there. (You might think, well of course, but we have stayed in places at similar price points where staff acted like they were doing you a favor...)

The concierge, Larry, did a patient and creative job exploring options for us to sight-see on New Year's Day (many things closed, car rentals complicated) and his recommendation for Linda Sanders' private tour (her company is
www.charlestonsctours.com) was spot on and we had a great afternoon with her (see my review). We used Marquis Limos for the airport transfers and they were excellent, well worth the premium over taxi fare.

The day we arrived, we had lunch at one of the hotel restaurants--Thoroughbred Club, the bar. We had she-crab soup and crabcakes and champagne; these were very good, but quite expensive per item, compared to other restaurants in town (82 Queen, Husk, Cypress).

The real stars of the show for our stay were the banquet/catering staff. Our group was huge (filled the hotel) and we all ate during a 60-90 minute window, with most people showing up right at the start. Serving hot, fresh, delicious food on buffet lines to some 1400 people is no easy thing to do, but Charleston Place did it and did it well. They clearly are expert at logistics, opening additional lines as the crowd grew, replenishing items, etc. They were also very attentive clearing away used plates and cutlery, replenishing beverages, etc. Plus, the food was delicious...far and away surpassing most "conference food" I've had. They had their own pastry chef, and each lunch and dinner had different desserts, rolls,etc. Great attention to detail, and done with a smile. First-rate event management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,677 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing