We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for a great city”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in great location - convenient to restaurants, shopping, CofC, and 250 years of history all within walking distance. Staff is friendly and attentive and the renovated rooms are charming yet modern (like USB ports in most outlets). We only ate breakfast in the Palmetto Cafe and the buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,120
    542
    243
    107
    53
See reviews for
586
1,268
68
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just wrapped up a successful 3-day meeting at the hotel. The service was excellent, the meeting rooms comfortable, the food delicious and the location within easy walking distance to shopping and an array of great restaurants. You won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Charleston Place is the only way to experience the city! Located in the heart of Charleston, off of King Street, it is a very easy walk to all of the best restaurants and shops in town. The guest rooms have been recently redecorated, and are absolutely stunning! Tasteful and traditional décor with modern appointments. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and quick to recommend restaurants, activities, etc. I didn’t want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDHHISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear MDHHISC,
We are honored to be considered your favorite hotel in Charleston! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location, restaurants and shops, as well as our friendly and accommodating staff. We're also glad that you like our Premier rooms which have a new modern look but still reflect Charleston’s traditional style. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fabulous hotel, staff and food! One of the finest hotels I have stayed at! Comfortable and clean rooms - friendly/helpful staff. Great location - in the center of town. Thank you Charleston Place for making it a wonderful anniversary and birthday weekend for us. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple just spent the weekend at the Charleston place hotel.
First it is a beautiful hotel. The normal rate is similar to a Ritz Carlton. So we expected Ritz Carlton type service.
From the check in we were disappointed.
The room rate was not proper. It took a few minutes to figure that one out. Both couples requested king beds. They had none. So we both ended up with two doubles in the rooms.
There is no water or coffee in the reception area nor is there water or coffee in the rooms.
We often stay in hilton garden inns which have both coffee in the rooms and lemon water and coffee in the reception area. It was amazing to is that for a Ritz Carlton rate you have to go downstairs and pay for a cup of coffee.
On night two we requested the very nice maid come back in 5 minutes for turn down service as we were just finishing getting dressed. She politely said she would return and never did.
While the concierge was wonderful the receptionist on both check in and departure left much to be desired.
Overall not the experience we were looking forward to.
However if you ever go to charleston you must call mark jones a charleston historian and hire him to take you in his car for a two hour tour. That was the highlight of the trip. And the hotel set that up. So kudos for that.
Tom


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Topcatkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tom,

We are glad you found our hotel beautiful, but disappointed to hear that there were other aspects of your stay that you were not happy with. We do try our best to provide the requested bed type, but are subject to availability. While we are unhappy that some staff did not provide what you wanted, we are glad that the concierge went above and beyond in helping you plan your stay. Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

my husband and i came here for our first anniversary. when we got to the hotel, we were upgraded to a bigger room. the staff was very helpful. hotel was in perfect located. we had amazing breakfast at the palmetto cafe, although i wish they did their buffet weekdays as well. we had the best dinner at charleston grill. we also enjoyed drinks and appetizers at the thoroughbred club. our only complaint was being able to hear the streets and that our room keys kept deactivating and locking us out of our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We loved the Charleston Place Hotel. Great staff, quiet, comfortable room. Nice bedding.
Great spa, pool, gym - more like a resort than a city hotel.
Great location.
Breakfast in the Palmetto Court was lovely.
My only complaint was that it was hard to get the temperature of the room down to 68 at night. We solved the problem by opening the window.
We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhoward182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing