We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Belmond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
1 review
“Belmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at the Belmond for my One year anniversary and was very impressed with the staff! They were all friendly and willing to assist! I could have stayed in bed forever too!! Bedding was so, so comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    519
    237
    105
    53
See reviews for
565
1,218
65
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Charleston Place for a convention. Everything was excellent. The staff was great. The facility is great. We had dinner at the Charleston Grill and I highly recommend it. It is expensive, but a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

staff and service was excellant, very knowledgeable and approachable. Room was clean and comfortable. very centrally located in walking distance of sites and shopping. the property cafe' and bar offer a fun selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled to get an upgrade to the Club level and we enjoyed the amenities and service the entire weekend. Our room was large and comfortable and they've made adjustments for current travel such as big power strips on the side of the desk. Wifi is free so my only downside would be absence of recycling bins in the room or elsewhere. Charleston Place is a fine luxury hotel that compares well with similar properties. We really enjoyed the Club and took advantage of the many different food offerings each day. We almost didn't need to go anywhere else. Tracie was a particular delight so helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend here with my 10 year old daughter and we were treated like queens! Gorgeous new premium room on the 6th floor, with a welcome note and bottle of champagne! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming! Breakfast and lunch were delicious, location is wonderful! Love the cards they give you for each restaurant so you can always find your way home!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Amazing hotel in the middle of everything! Gorgeous; great and accommodating staff; nice hotel rooms. Excellent shopping; restaurants and bars. We are staying at Club level and it's well worth the price for the added amenities and Club level benefits....continental breakfast; snacks; libations; etc. A very glassy hotel! Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Charleston Place after many years. Some traditions are worth keeping. Beautifully decorated public rooms, impeccable service. Always addressed by name. Had a wonderful junior suite. Contrary to previous reviewer, did not hear a peep from either rooms or hallways. Delicious dinner at event we were attending and breakfast the next morning. Location in the midst of things.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing