We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Relaxing weekend in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and is within walking distance to all the best stores downtown (great boutiques within the hotel also). Highly recommend this hotel for its world class accommodation helpful staff and a great spa too!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    538
    243
    107
    53
See reviews for
581
1,258
67
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penhook, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Charleston Place is a beautiful hotel in the center of historic Charleston. Our room was large and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Our only complaint is that the air conditioner was extremely noisy and woke us up the first night (of two). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Charleston Grill provided excellent food and service, though it was rather pricey (as is the hotel itself). The bar was also a pleasant place to relax after dinner. Charleston's attractions (such as the horse drawn carriage rides) are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at the Belmond for my One year anniversary and was very impressed with the staff! They were all friendly and willing to assist! I could have stayed in bed forever too!! Bedding was so, so comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Charleston Place for a convention. Everything was excellent. The staff was great. The facility is great. We had dinner at the Charleston Grill and I highly recommend it. It is expensive, but a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

staff and service was excellant, very knowledgeable and approachable. Room was clean and comfortable. very centrally located in walking distance of sites and shopping. the property cafe' and bar offer a fun selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
323 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled to get an upgrade to the Club level and we enjoyed the amenities and service the entire weekend. Our room was large and comfortable and they've made adjustments for current travel such as big power strips on the side of the desk. Wifi is free so my only downside would be absence of recycling bins in the room or elsewhere. Charleston Place is a fine luxury hotel that compares well with similar properties. We really enjoyed the Club and took advantage of the many different food offerings each day. We almost didn't need to go anywhere else. Tracie was a particular delight so helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
262 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend here with my 10 year old daughter and we were treated like queens! Gorgeous new premium room on the 6th floor, with a welcome note and bottle of champagne! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming! Breakfast and lunch were delicious, location is wonderful! Love the cards they give you for each restaurant so you can always find your way home!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing