We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We got an unannounced wake up call at 600am and when we told the front desk they were not concerned. It would have been a nice hotel if it was half the price . The food was also average -$25 for a hamburger at the cafe !!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asgdoctors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Asgdoctors,

Thank you for your recent review. We sincerely apologize for the wake-up call issue you encountered during your visit, and hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in town. Thank you for your feedback, as we read all of these reviews to better our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Outstanding location, stellar accommodations, and superior staff make this THE PLACE to stay for a Charleston vacation. My wife and I cannot say enough good things about our stay on the concierge floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location with marginal food and mediocre service. In a town dedicated to hospitality it falls far short. Next trip we will return to the many boutiques and fine restaurants and will skip this one.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Dennis,

Thank you for your recent review. It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel’s physical features and its central location. However, I’m sorry to hear that the service and food were not up to your standards. We have multiple Four Diamond and Forbes Four Star restaurants on property and it’s always our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations. I hope you will give us another try next time you find yourself in Charleston.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Charleston Place is first class without being pretentious. Location couldn't be better - with historic walks and fantastic shopping only steps away. Staff members are all friendly and helpful. The spa and pool deck are relaxing. It's at the top of my list of favorite places to stay across the country. It's perfect for business meetings and couples /firiends getaways alike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as a family.
Rooms: We were located on the 7th floor. We got a room that was not yet renovated. The air conditioning was so loud that we chose to open the windows at night rather than have it drone. The technician told us that the entire hotel suffered from this problem, even the renovated rooms.
Otherwise, the room was good, a decent size and clean. The beds were comfortable. The walls are a bit thin.
Service: The service was extremely poor. We arrived at about 2 PM and were told at check-in that the room was not ready. We were asked to wait for about 1 hour while they put a rush on getting our room cleaned. They promised to call us when it was done. We decided to have a drink at the bar right in front of the check-in counter. We checked with registration after about 90 minutes with regards to our room. We were informed rudely that check-in was at 4 PM and the room would not be ready until then. Finally we checked in again at about 4:30, no call yet, and the room was ready! Really, 3 hours top clean 1 room! No call to let us know it was ready. No internet password given to us, no dog bowl for the dog, no apologies!!
The next morning we called house keeping and asked if they could clean the room as we were taking the dog out for a walk. We returned 2:45 minutes later and the room was still not done.
Having said this, the rest of the staff (valet, bar, pool, spa and others) were excellent. They were polite, went out of their way to help and make your stay nice.
This hotel is pet friendly, this is a big point in its favor.
Next time we will look for somewhere else. This is sad as the hotel has a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Khaja,

While we are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that you were unhappy with, we do appreciate your feedback as we read all of these reviews to better our guests’ experience. I’m sorry that you did not receive a call during check-in from our Front Desk but am glad that overall the staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I loved every minute of it -- even if the food was very, very expensive. This establishment knows how to "do hotel right". First of all, the lobby is fabulous, the rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. Room service is delivered very promptly and with finesse. Everything in the room worked right; nothing leaked, squeaked, or smelled weird and the bed was super comfortable. The concierge is well informed and helpful. Car service was easy to secure. Popular sightseeing is within walking distance. A couple of days after I checked out to join a group staying in another hotel, I returned to Charleston Place for lunch, one of the servers remembered me and supposed I was still staying at the hotel. This is a very friendly place. On my list of "very important hotels", this one is now tied for #1, with the Williamsburg Inn.

Room Tip: Everything there is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TirzahRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, if only for one night. The location is perfect and we were looking forward to our stay. We knew that the hotel was undergoing construction, but I was assured prior to our arrival that our room would be far away from it. Just walking through the grand lobby when we arrived, we felt that we indeed chose well. We were warmly greeted and the check in was very smooth and pleasant. Without me having to say anything I was told that the room on the 6th floor is away from any construction and it was.
The room was lovely with the rich silk draperies and the french doors opening on to a small balcony. The light grey paint on the walls was so soothing, that I am tempted to have our bedroom repainted. I was reminded of a similar room we stayed in Paris couple of years ago. The white marble bathroom looked brand new and had all the amenities you would expect in a luxury hotel.
Strangely, I did not get hot water in the shower early in the morning, but my husband enjoyed a nice hot shower just an hour later. We did not have enough time to see everything that the hotel has to offer, no time for pool or spa, but we had a great dinner in the hotel's Charleston Grille restaurant and a breakfast in the Palmetto Cafe- both first class. We also received a complimentary fruit and cheese platter and a bottle of wine and felt truly pampered.
But was our stay perfect? Well, almost! There was a small "glitch", probably due to the renovations. Because we travel extensively all over the world we know from experience that things seldom are perfect. However it is my opinion, that how the situation is handled by management is what counts the most in the end. We were very happy with the hotel's response!
Charleston is a city with a lot of history and lot of charm. We spent our afternoon browsing through the art galleries nearby and just walking on the King street. The old Europe feel, that we love so much will draw us back. We are definitely thinking of returning and spending more time here next year..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,463 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £240 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing