We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I recently visited Charleston for few days while the kids were at camp, we chose this hotel for the location and it appears luxurious and nice.
Overall experience was goo, the location is excellent and the staff was very nice on arrival.
unfortunately, we encountered problems with our room, with the toilet and water leakage from the ceiling, they tried to fix it but could not, and they could not move us to another room as they said they were full. I believe hotels should always leave room open in case emergencies like this happen. Housekeeping and engineering were nice but could not solve the problem and management was not on top of it. The shops are nice and the restaurants around it have excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,209)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,728 - 1,734 of 3,209 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very nice hotel and good service. I would recommend for business or leisure travels. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The fitness center is well stocked and a very nice bar. Good service provided by all hotel employees.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wonderful Hotel In a Great Location. Usually stay in Ritz-Carltons when travelling - this offered all the same amenities - great experience. The Restaurant & Bar were wonderful. Had lunch in the Courtyard - just lovely !

Room Tip: We were on the Club Level - wonderful !!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudysmom666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First time to Charleston and this was not only a great location but a beautiful hotel.
Friendly service, crisp,clean rooms, great amenities on site. The Cafe was outrageously expensive for lunch, although the menu was creative and upscale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just returned from a great long weekend in Charleston-a surprise from my husband! We had 3 rooms; our adult children came with us! The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and well accomodated! Charleston Place is close to EVERYTHING! It is in a great location!

Room Tip: Our room was pretty close to the elevator-although no rooms were directly adjacent to elevators. If...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlgernonofChrisKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Charleston Place definitely lived up to its hype. Located in the very heart of downtown Charleston, in the historic district and within walking distance of most everything, we never got back into our car until we left! Upon check-in for a 2 night stay (6/7-8/2014) we did have a few issues with our room but they were quickly resolved. We had another issue the following morning due to a "training" error which happens....neither issue was a big deal and resolved with an I'm sorry and a smile. Our room was lovely and had a small walk out balcony (which VERY FEW rooms have). I have attached pictures. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was roomy with everything provided incase you forgot something. I loved how at turndown at night they turned the TV to a soft music station. Was nice to return too. On the downside; The air conditioners really don't cool to the temperature stated in the room, we just assumed they had a cap on what you could set it too. When it did run it was LOUD. Unfortunate for such a high class hotel. Also, They didn't offer anything complimentary which I feel they should for the price of the rooms, even a glass of wine at the hotel bar would be something they should consider. We didn't eat at The Charleston Grill, which has received wonderful reviews, as we felt the Menu was more fitting for us elsewhere. (Circa 1886 & Poogan's Porch :-))
In the morning if you want a quick cup of coffee and a Danish or piece of fruit they have a small Barista set up that is only open for a short time. Perfect to take the edge off until lunch (The Griffon!! It is a MUST).
The hotel is beautiful with a perfect location, very pricey but the location makes up for that cha-ching sting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony....it was NOT an additional charge.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Belomond Charleston Place is a wonderful hotel. We had a great experience there while in town for a wedding. The accommodations, staff, restaurants and locations are all perfect. Centrally located and within walking distance of nearly everything, this hotel provides everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay while enjoying Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,772 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £250 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing