We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay in Charleston!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My friend and I just returned from a girls trip to Charleston and stayed at Belmond Charleston Place. It is perfectly located downtown and everything is within walking distance. Our car never left the garage. The staff was absolutely wonderful and so friendly! We stayed on the Club Level and enjoyed all the perks of breakfast, snacks, non-alcoholic, as well as alcoholic beverages. They truly spoil you rotten and I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. This was my first stay at this hotel, but needless to say, it won't be my last. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

There are a lot of hotels that do not live up to their reputation and hype Charleston Place is not one of these! The service here is outstanding! The premium rooms are exquisitely appointed and everything from check-in, to room service, to the design of the room was perfection! The restaurants within the hotel are also top notch! The staff really pay attention to the details, and no stone is left unturned! The location is perfectly central to everything Charleston has to offer. King St. and the surrounding historic area are all within walking distance. I cant wait until I return to this amazing property!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From check in to check out....the perfect hotel. The rooms (we had 2) were perfect. I would have liked to have my children (older teens) next to us but the hotel could not accommodate that request.
Everyone at the hotel made our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tootsie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for two nights as part of a road trip. Great welcome and service though out. Newly refurbished rooms were lovely. Two great massages in the spa and wicked gin martins in the bar. The concierge gives great unbiased advice on where to eat and you are right in the middle of downtown charleston. The shops are an interesting but unnecessary convenience. Did I say the gin martins are amazing?

Room Tip: Higher floors, not over looking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent the weekend in mid June and have to say, everything was terrific. The location is perfect, we basically parked in the garage and easily walked everywhere. Concierges were really pleasant and very helpful. Rooms were not huge but were very comfortable, great bathrooms in renovated rooms. We celebrated a special occasion and the hotel made a big deal of it. Very nice touch. We have family in Charleston, returning at least yearly, won't stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: One of the renovated ones, upper floors I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Charleston Place for our anniversary in April and the hotel was lovely. Service was really top notch as would be expected with the price and brand of the hotel. The location was perfect! Right in the middle of everything. We even took a horse and buggy tour and the hotel was mentioned in the tour.

Plametto cafe was perfect for breakfast. We didnt get at the Charleston grill, however I heard its amazing.

The only reason they are getting a 4 is because I have stayed at other Belmond (formerly Orient Express) hotels such as The Inn at Perry Cabin and Hotel Splendido and the setting and the grounds were absolutely amazing. While this hotel is very very nice, it didnt have the same feeling that I was expecting.

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel are the same size but ask for a renovated one if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurad42na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is everything you expect in a five star property. Modern elegance combines with southern charm. Staff is friendly and helpful. No "attitude" to be found here. Car valet service is impeccable, concierge just perfect. It is always my first recommendation to visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £237 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing