We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Belmond Charleston Place Hotel for four nights over the July 4th weekend. We chose a king BR on the Club level which has a private key access. The room was clean and the AC worked well...although the rooms on the two Club floors have not yet been renovated. Lobby areas are upscale and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. We were very pleased with the Club floor amenities. Drinks and snacks were available at all hours of the day (continental breakfast, light snacks mid-day, and desserts at night). The hotel's location was great as well. We are returning to Charleston in September and have already booked two rooms at the Belmond Charleston Place Hotel again. I wish to personally thank the reservations manager as well as Alexis (reservation staff) for handling my requests so graciously and efficiently! We are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Club level rooms are on the two highest floors and offer food and drinks throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridadFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear FloridadFish,

Thank you for being a loyal customer! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over Fourth of July weekend and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the all of the amenities the Club Level has to offer… It really is a treat! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in September.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed two weekend nights at the end of June. $420 plus tax per night.
Room and staff were pleasant. Mold and missing tiles in bathroom. Curtains would not close all the way. Light bulbs burned out on desk lamp. Stairwells closed due to work. Nothing to soften the blow of almost $1,000 for two nights. No newspaper and, of course, no coffee.
It was nice but you could spend less at a Ritz or Fairmont and get much more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Pamalani,

While we are happy to hear that the room and staff were pleasant, we are sorry there were other aspects of your stay that you were not happy with. In the future, please let the front desk know if you are disappointed with any part of your room, they would be more than happy to either fix any issues or, if there are other rooms available, they can move you to a room that better fits your needs. Though we are disappointed you did not fully enjoy your stay we appreciate your feedback as we read all of these reviews to better our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful with many amenities. The room was very comfortable. We were upgraded to a premier room when the front desk staff member learned it was our first time in Charleston. The spa treatment was terrific and the concierge very helpful. The pool area was also great with a separate kiddie pool.

We had a couple of minor issues we reported upon checking out. My only complaint would be the difficulty in getting assistance from the front desk or the concierge over the phone. The emphasis on personal service meant we were placed on hold when we called for information leaving me to go to the front desk or concierge for assistance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better view of downtown Charleston. Ask for room that does not face the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Robert S,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is reviews such as these that help us to understand what amenities guests most enjoy along with what might need improvement. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We checked into a subpar hotel when we first arrived in Charleston. I was desperate to upgrade our vacation asap. I called the Belmond on a Sunday morning and they confirmed a Jr. Suite for the following day.

When we arrived for check in it was clear there was a problem with our room. The front desk manager sent us to the bar for a drink and appetizers while she sorted it all out. We knew we were in good hands. Within minutes she let us know the suite wasn't available but we could have connecting rooms at no extra charge, in fact she comped the extra room. Wow, not what we were expecting.

We felt pampered and taken care of the entire trip. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was huge. There was some construction going on on our floor (spa floor) but I would imagine it's all done by now. The location is perfect for walking the city. Breakfast was expensive, but it felt like a treat the one day we ate there.

I would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndraGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear IndraGB,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in Charleston with us and that we were able to make certain accommodations in order to enhance your stay. We appreciate reviews such as these, as they are provide us with insight about our guests’ experiences. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When this hotel becomes our only "go to" place in the city, that says something of the outstanding, service that Charleston Place consistantly provides. We recently had a 200+ person meeting in June and the comments to me from our attendees were nothing but fantastic. The hotel is impressive with it's grand double staircase, marble floors and staff that makes you feel like royalty, it's no surprise that our company will only go to Charleston if Charleston Place is available.

The food is delicious and beautifully presented, the staff friendly and helpful, the location is perfect!! We hade some special requests for our meeting and Charleston Place accomodated every single one with a smile and showed excitement to be part of our event.

I would totally recommend this place for either a fun weekend to relax or a large corporate event.

This was the easiest review I ever had to write!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that both you and your company enjoyed your corporate event with us. And we are glad that we were able to assist in ensuring that your large group meeting in June ran smoothly, as we pride ourselves on providing the best service possible. We thank you again for taking the time to review us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and children (ages 3 and 5) stayed here for a night on our way to Hilton Head. It was very convenient to Charleston International Airport and relatively easy to find. We paid for an newly renovated room, but were upgraded to the club level. Drinks and snacks were available at all hours of the day (continental breakfast, light snacks mid-day, and desserts at night).
The room was rather large and comfortable. The central location made it easily accessible for dinner, carriage rides, and shopping. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank James_08251977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear James_08251977,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us! We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your experience a memorable one and that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the Club Level has to offer. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I loved Belmond Charleston Place, service was amazing, food was great, loved the antique vibe. Definitely the way to go it's to stay in the 8th floor, the view is amazing and the perks of the "club" are great! Location is great to just walk everywhere. Customer service was beyond my expectations. I'm looking forward my next visit!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Neikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Neikah,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Belmond Charleston Place. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that the Club Level has to offer, it is really a treat! Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £223 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing