We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

OMG - yes breathtaking

Ok so in this life you get what you pay for and we spent that little extra as my wife loves the Orient Express and the link between them

Stunning Stunning Stunning

If you can go there you just have to do it, the rooms are beautiful and the hotel is beautiful.

We did not want to leave.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    564
    249
    109
    54
See reviews for
619
1,319
69
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We love everything about this hotel. Perfectly located so you can walk to everything in old historic Charleston. The rooms are luxurious, service is unbelievable, and everone working here seems to love being here and helping you.
One of the few times at breakfast anywhere where I was asked what type of coffee I wanted, then they french press it at the table.
I travel alot and ghis is near the top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent. Our favorite place to stay when visiting Charlestown South Carolina. The staff is incredible, extremely comfortable rooms, located in the heart of Charleston. Within walking distance of every where you would like to be on the peninsula.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for an anniversary weekend, centrally located in downtown Charleston, this hotel has great restaurants and bars, many restaurants and shopping nearby. The staff were very courteous and attentive. Awesome indoor pool and spa located on same level. Would stay here again. :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahbi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had not been to the hotel in 10 years. What a mistake. This hotel - physically and their staff - provide the MOST fantastic experience you could hope for.
The rooms are serene and beautiful. If the town were not so great I would have wanted to stay in the hotel!
This hotel is just wonderful. I travel a lot. This place never disappoints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel looks magnificent from the outside the decor charm character shines through rooms staff can't do enough it's position is superb sort of lost for words :)
The area is flat so if your back is bad walking is easier . The hotel is located smack in the heart of the city but check your sat nav if driving as it ends in the road and the entrance is down a very small side street .

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 a it's a suite to die for even the basic room 613 when the air on works a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is our 5th visit to Charleston place.
Our daughter will be a freshman in August.
We are very modest people (flight attendant mom and high school teacher dad)
They always make us feel so so welcomed and everyone is so kind
For the next 4 years a stay at Charleston Place will be my Birthday and Christmas present!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank beach1234054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,738 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing