We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the renovations scare you away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Sure, they're renovating the hotel and, yes, there is some noise and equipment outside but not so that it will detract from your stay at this great hotel. The renovated rooms are spectacular. The club floor amenities are superb and the staff - especially the staff - are the best. You can't beat the hotel's location for quick walks to the restaurants (don't miss eating at Husk!), the shopping on King St. or to the historic old city. A quick half hour or forty-five minute drive takes you to the beaches of Sullivan Island or Kiawah.

If you're going to Charleston, stay at the Charleston Place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the southeast have the best views of the old city and Cooper River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Damon R,

Thank you for your review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to appreciate our newly redesigned Premier rooms! We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, as we do our best to ensure that we always provide exceptional customer service for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Charleston again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm a frequent traveler to Charleston and Belmond Charleston Place is my home away from home. It's beautiful, the rooms are elegant and comfortable, and the people do everything possible to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Charleston again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

With only three nights to spend on a mini vacation, my wife and I selected Charleston. We had it on our list for a while, but when Travel and Leisure had it at the top of there list.... it was a go. On advise of a friend who works in the Hotel industry we booked the Charleston Place Hotel. We were not disappointed. Our room was newly renovated, and nothing was overlooked. The bathroom was beautiful, Shower head pouring water straight down, surrounded by marble, nightlight built in under the vanity, and a pull out magnifying mirror which delighted my wife. The room was large and very well furnished and appointed. The bed and bedding was excellent. Usually a restless sleeper, my wife experienced eight full hours uninterrupted, I can't remember the last time that happened. Having an early dinner, we ambled down to the Thoroughbred lounge for a late night snack. The bar food was excellent, as was the libations. Every employee we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. The saltwater pool was a delight after many hours of walking tours. And the pool and fitness staff were great.
We look forward to a return trip when we have more time. And the Charleston Place is our only hotel choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Charleston Place on at three occasions, I've seen it's ups and downs. Today was an exception. I have been here three times and could not check in as earlier as I have had in the past. Three times to be moved today because the room I requested was not available and this is a very expensive property. Unfortunately nobody really hears you until you scream and make it absolutely clear about how you feel. It is the dismissiveness that makes me sad. And there were not a lot of folks around. Perhaps computer glitches happen and there is error when combined with human talent, but to move a person and not hear them, makes me want to stay someplace else. Strong applause to Jessica, the supervisor, for unnecessarily upgrading me to a suite. Customer service must be always there and not relegated to 'oh well, we just don't have it now for you.' Make it so!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear coloraia,

While we are glad you enjoyed your suite, we are sorry you were disappointed that you could not check in as early as you have in the past. If the room is available early, we of course welcome the guest to their room as soon as we can. However, in order to properly prepare the room for the next guest’s arrival, we cannot always guarantee an early check-in. We are glad Jessica could accommodate you and hope you return so we can make your next visit the best yet.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you want to be awaken in the middle of the night to the sounds of drills and hammers then this is the place for you! Air conditioning in hall ways was cut off and our room air conditioning unit was not working.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Susan C,

We are sorry to hear there were noise issues during your stay. However, we can assure you that any renovations being done are only in progress during the middle of the day, stopping before night time and crews are prohibited from working until 9am. Though we are sorry you were disappointed, we appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was an extremely expensive three nights at this hotel which would have been okay if our family had slept well. We stayed in a delux Junior suite because we are a family of four so we need extra space and beds. The quality of the pull out sofa was horrific so my daughter slept on the floor. We had stayed at The Willcox in Aiken for the start of our trip and their pull out was in excellent shape and had a feather top on top of the mattress. The bathroom had little to no counter top space. There was construction in the hall as well as no air conditioning outside our room so everytime we came out it was not pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 316lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are sorry to hear your trip was not what you expected. In the future, please let our front desk know you are unhappy with your room or sleeping arrangements, if there is a room available they will be more than happy to move you to a room that better suits your needs. We do have different configurations for different rooms, and may have been able to accommodate your family better. Though we are sad to hear your stay was not what you anticipated, we appreciate your feedback.


Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the kind of hotel you expect in the old South - elegant, charming, upscale. The rooms, while not overly large, are well appointed. They do lack a coffee machine, which is inconvenient. The fitness facilities are great and the fitness attendant was most courteous. The hotel is undergoing some renovation, so there is building material spewn around outside. This is temporary, I believe.

Room Tip: Stay away from the renovation area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,934 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,858 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,462 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £236 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing