We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable luxury stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have been staying at the Charleston Place for many years. It has a superb location in Charleston with convenient parking. Easy to walk to lots of good restaurants and shops. The hotel is well maintained, and has more amenities than any other in the area. Breakfast in the Cafe is superb, and dinner in the Grill is competitive with Charleston's top choices. Ask for a newly renovated room if available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Belmond Charleston Place for 2 nights in August. The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect to walk around. I was a little concerned regarding the renovation work that is being done but was assured when I was booking the room that it would not be a problem, our room would be far away from the noise. They were absolutely correct we did not hear the noise at all! We booked a newly renovated room and during check in were informed we were upgraded to a room with a terrace! The beds were extremely comfortable, we both slept wonderfully! We also loved the shower and bathroom! We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charleston and hope we can be back there again to enjoy the hotel as well as the city!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank candcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear candcmom,

Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience one of our newly redesigned rooms. We hope that you will choose to come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Was a wonderful hotel super nice lobby, great rooms very nice decor and a super comfortable bed, friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful, but best of all it's in the center of historic charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Tim H,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and knowledgable staff. We hope to welcome you back to Charleston again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It was love at first sight when i arrived at the Belmond. The foyer is grand and, as I believe all first rate hotels should have, had a floral centerpiece filled with fragrant lillies. Once we were shown to our suite (we were 3: myself, my husband, and 17 year old daughter) we were wowed by the grandeur of the 3 rooms. It was tastefully done, but with modern and high tech conveniences. I will ALWAYS choose to stay at the Belmond when in Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Judi R,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Belmond Charleston Place! We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, as reviews such as these help us to understand which areas of the hotel guests enjoy most. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from a 6-night stay at Charleston Place and it was fabulous! Its not inexpensive but we got a great deal with Jet Blue Getaways that made choosing this Hotel too good to pass up. The hotel is perfectly located on the corner of Meeting St. and Market St with King St. right behind it so you couldn't ask for a better 'in town' location to restaurants, shopping- both high end and touristy, historic homes, the harbor, the College of Charleston and many other places too numerous to mention.

As for the Hotel itself I simply can't say enough for the all staff we interacted with, the food, the rooms and the amenities. I'm pretty fussy about wanting a clean, comfortable room with modern features and we were not disappointed. Everyone was as friendly as can be and even though it is a high-end property, it didn't feel at all 'stuffy'. I was expecting a lot from them because of its reputation and this hotel did not disappoint!


The Breakfast Staff was the best! They were very professional as well as exceedingly friendly and just a great way to start our day! We were In Charleston to find a new home and they were so helpful to us by offering great advice and information about different areas all of which we found invaluable.

If you get a chance to get to Charleston, consider Charleston Place as a place to stay. It would hard not to like!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank places2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Places2go,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, staff and amenities as we always try our best to provide an excellent experience for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Charleston again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at the Charleston Place Hotel. The hotel is beautiful - the exterior has that southern charm, while the main lobby is covered by a huge chandelier. All of the staff we encountered were super friendly - from the bell hops to the front desk staff to the concierge to the spa staff.

We had a standard room on the 4th floor. It was spacious, with a large bathroom. It doesn't appear to be one of the renovated rooms, but it was perfectly fine for us. We were just a few doors down from the pool, which was perfect. The pool was a perfect place to cool off after a full day of sightseeing in the summer heat and the retractable roof ensures that you'll always be able to swim and relax.

The various concierges were very helpful. This was our first trip to Charleston and the only research we did in advance was booking some dinner reservations. The concierges helped us with a beach trip, car rental, sightseeing options in town, and plantation recommendations.

When I called to confirm the reservation the night before we arrived, the Reservation Staff asked if we were celebrating any special occasions (we were). On our first night at the hotel, we were surprised with complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries.

As a side note, even though we booked our reservation through a third party website for less than the hotel's rate, we were treated as first class guests in this beautiful hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jasonk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Jasonk77,

Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that our concierge was able to assist you throughout your travels. We hope that you will choose to come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We got in early (around 930 am) and not only did they have a room ready, but they upgraded us to a premier room at no extra charge. The room was awesome and very relaxing. We also ended up taking advantage of the pool and the spa on multiple occasions. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Brianna S,

Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience one of our newly redesigned Premier rooms as well as our pool and spa amenities. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Belmond Charleston Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £224 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing