We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Conference Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed at the Charleston Place Hotel for two nights during my company's annual conference in September.

Pros:
-Location. The hotel is only a short walk away from the Charleston Market, King Street and the many bars, shops and restaurants in the area. While a car is necessary for golf, beaches or other extended excursions, visitors could easily occupy themselves for days remaining within walking distance.
-Rooms. Clean, nicely appointed, with generously sized bathrooms and comfortable beds.
-Service. Due to a mixup on the part of our event planners, my room reservation was accidentally canceled. However, the employee at the front desk never balked and immediately found me a room during what appeared to be a busy week.
-Conference facilities. Similar to convention-oriented hotels in larger cities, Charleston Place has an entire wing of ballrooms to accommodate multiple events and create some separation between conference activities and vacationers. Event-specific wi-fi was available to attendees in the ballroom wing.

Cons:
-Price. After deciding to extend my stay in Charleston, I quickly dismissed the idea of staying at the Charleston Place due to price considerations. While a romantic vacation would be worth every penny, tacking a few days onto a conference for some sightseeing just didn't justify the luxury lodging.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerbalCurrency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,123
    542
    243
    107
    53
See reviews for
587
1,270
68
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed at the Charleston Place last month while I was in town visiting friends and family. I don't need to mention that the property is beautiful. The pictures speak for themselves. What makes Charleston Place truly stand out is the service. The entire time, I was treated so well by the whole staff. They are clearly trained to give the guests a phenomenal experience from check-in to check-out. I'll most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Charleston Place is the perfect place to recharge your batteries! Staff at every level is exceedingly gracious and hospitable. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Beds are plush and bathrooms were deluxe. The location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Charleston Place is located in the downtown historic district of Charleston, SC and I love it!!!
The service I recieved can be rated in one word "SUPERIOR". I was pleasantly surprised at how courteous, polite, friendly and helpful everyone was beginning with the hotel operator, who answered the phone when I called to make reservations ,and ending with the Bellman who got my car when I checked out. They made me feel like I was their only guest!!
I will continue to and have been telling my colleages, family and friends to stay their whenever they are in Charleston, S.C.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The location of the hotel in the heart of Charleston makes it a perfect place for sightseeing and shopping. There is so much to do within minutes of stepping outside the hotel. However, the comfort and amenities of the hotel make it a destination unto itself--whether having a drink and people watching at the lobby lounge or swimming and sunning, it was easy just to be there and enjoy all the hotel had to offer. The staff defines southern hospitality and were gracious and polite at every turn. I didn't want to leave at the end of my stay.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
Thank Patty078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Wonderful service throughout the hotel. Checkin was a breeze, the bar was delightful with personable and friendly service. Breakfast was delicious with great service and the best house-cured salmon I have had in a long time. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The hotel was nice, but very expensive. Did not have a refrigerator or microwave. Would not allow a rollaway bed in either the double rooms or the king room. There were sugar ants in the bathroom. If you were in the room at the time of cleaning, they would not come back later, same for turn down service, unless you called house keeping. Only one-ply toilet paper, come on! Charged to use the Business Services. No Wi-Fi, had to hook up with an Ethernet cable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahogirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing