We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable elegance, superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dependable elegance, superior service”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Over the years since the Charleston Place first opened we have been MANY times for three day weekends and a few times with our kids for longer visits. This is an excellent hotel; well appointed, professional non intrusive staff in all areas of service to the customer, a fabulous spa, incredible salt water pool, a location in downtown Charleston that allows you to valet park your car and never need it your entire visit while still having world class dining available to you in walking distance and great shopping right outside the door. I heartily recommend the club floor....it really is worth every extra penny! Not to discount the restaurants in the hotel,also excellent, or the fine restaurants in Charleston....you could get enough food and free cocktails, tea, or juice to never leave the two club floors your entire visit! Get the Magnolia salt/sugar scrub in the spa your skin will thank you. We love this place. Home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    557
    246
    108
    54
See reviews for
606
1,299
69
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My spouse and I returned to Charleston SC where we'd enjoyed a viist some years ago. We elected to stay at Charleston Place once again based on our first experience (friends advised us the first time). Truly the right decision --- the hotel is great, offering anything you could want. But the staff .... its the staff at this hotel that really knock your socks off. They truly enjoy helping you enjoy your visit and coming to know this wonderful, historic city. We stayed on The Club, the hotel's concierge level, and really enjoyed the lounge there --- always a nice food treat just when you need it. The manager there (Robin) was a delight, always calling us by name and eager to make suggestions. Love the wonderful indoor/outdoor pool! Great loungers on the roof deck.
The Palmetto Cafe on the first floor has a great menu (you'd never guess it was a hotel dining room). Really top notch menu and friendly staff.

The hotel location is central for getting around to historic sights and restaurants. We walked everywhere. Charleston is very walkable; we love looking at the old houses and mansions.

Will definitely return to Charleston and Charleston Place has us sold!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamSinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This past summer two of my grandsons, ages 8 and 10, and I took a special trip together. They wanted to go to Charleston and even suggested a place to stay. I took their advise about the destination but rejected their hotel because it did not have a swimming pool. Charleston Place was perfect for us. One grandson said that this was the first time he had stayed in a hotel with a mall. Location and accomodations were perfect for a special grandfather/grandson stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBob1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed at the Charleston Place Hotel for two nights during my company's annual conference in September.

Pros:
-Location. The hotel is only a short walk away from the Charleston Market, King Street and the many bars, shops and restaurants in the area. While a car is necessary for golf, beaches or other extended excursions, visitors could easily occupy themselves for days remaining within walking distance.
-Rooms. Clean, nicely appointed, with generously sized bathrooms and comfortable beds.
-Service. Due to a mixup on the part of our event planners, my room reservation was accidentally canceled. However, the employee at the front desk never balked and immediately found me a room during what appeared to be a busy week.
-Conference facilities. Similar to convention-oriented hotels in larger cities, Charleston Place has an entire wing of ballrooms to accommodate multiple events and create some separation between conference activities and vacationers. Event-specific wi-fi was available to attendees in the ballroom wing.

Cons:
-Price. After deciding to extend my stay in Charleston, I quickly dismissed the idea of staying at the Charleston Place due to price considerations. While a romantic vacation would be worth every penny, tacking a few days onto a conference for some sightseeing just didn't justify the luxury lodging.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerbalCurrency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed at the Charleston Place last month while I was in town visiting friends and family. I don't need to mention that the property is beautiful. The pictures speak for themselves. What makes Charleston Place truly stand out is the service. The entire time, I was treated so well by the whole staff. They are clearly trained to give the guests a phenomenal experience from check-in to check-out. I'll most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Charleston Place is the perfect place to recharge your batteries! Staff at every level is exceedingly gracious and hospitable. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Beds are plush and bathrooms were deluxe. The location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Charleston Place is located in the downtown historic district of Charleston, SC and I love it!!!
The service I recieved can be rated in one word "SUPERIOR". I was pleasantly surprised at how courteous, polite, friendly and helpful everyone was beginning with the hotel operator, who answered the phone when I called to make reservations ,and ending with the Bellman who got my car when I checked out. They made me feel like I was their only guest!!
I will continue to and have been telling my colleages, family and friends to stay their whenever they are in Charleston, S.C.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,705 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 62 in Charleston
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing