We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for lunch.”
Review of Mac's Pub and Grub

Mac's Pub and Grub
Ranked #194 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Bowling Green KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stopped for lunch.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped on a hot day for tea and a light lunch. We ordered appetizers for lunch, food was good. Service was very SLOW and when she took my CC to pay she somehow made a mistake and had to get the manager to reprint a copy for me to sign. The total on this copy was $4.00 more than the original? When I ask why she had to go back to manager and we never got a sensible answer. She said just sign it and it would be posted correctly!! We ask her to void it and we paid cash but she would not give us a voided copy. I am still watching my CC online to see if it posts, it is still pending.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Telemark, NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were looking for a simple bite to eat and true to its name, there's drinks and pub style food. The service was okay, considering there were not too many people there. I had a basic salad and the spouse had a Greek salad. Nothing special but not bad, either. Decent value but not my first...or second choice for a lunch stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank telemarkJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
384 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“ONCE WAS ENOUGH”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you like to sit among a lot of mouth drunken college students and listen to blaring music so loud you cannot carry on a normal conversation then this is the place for you, not me.
The fish n chips were the worst I've ever had. The sauce that came with it tasted sour or even spoiled.
The only consolation is our server was very polite but even that could not make up for the totally tasteless food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stopped in by the flying of the Chicago bears flag, and was greeted by friendly bar staff, and great drink prices. We went back on Sunday to catch the Jacksonville game. Don't walk by, stop in for a drink

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljohnson520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“College Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sat down and eventual was not greeted by the waitress, she breezed by taking long enough drop the menus on the table.
There was no friendly salutation.

Food was very good, beer was the usual bar fare but a nice variety and equally good.

A good value in the Market Street area without the tourist crowd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markvmodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Pub and Grub also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mac's Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing