We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Charleston attractions. The staff is extra helpful and was quick to correct an error on our bill. They did have events booked both weekend nights in the lobby/ conference room, but our room on the sixth floor was still quiet. They had a very nice pool area and rooms with balconies on the second floor. The business center was an easy place to check email or print boarding passes. The gym was a little small and the treadmill was always busy, but staff gave me great directions for an outdoor run that was much better (I saw a dolphin while running along the sea wall!). I would stay again if I return to Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyTravelerMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,012 - 3,018 of 3,473 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

Primarily chosen on location (very close to the houses south of Broad Street and one block off King Streets galleries and antique stores). It is however a hotel with a great old vibe (even though it was reconstructed after a fire some time ago). Room 715 is great for view--river and bridge to the north and southward toward Sumpter Island. It is also high enough that the noise isn't too bad. Bathroom too small, but not unusually so for an old hotel. Service terrific. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great location, staff were very helpfull,room was very nice. Have stayed there before with the same service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The location was great. Unfortunately our room was facing Queen St and with the restaurants across the street, the garbage trucks and delivery trucks were very noisy in the morning. If you are an early riser (6:00am) then you would be fine. I suggest staying in the rooms facing the courtyard although I expect those would be pricier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Queen St were noisy in the morning with garbage trucks and delivery trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel does not deserve a 4-diamond AAA rating. I looked into the other 4-diamond hotels in the downtown area with equally desirable locations, and The Mills House is not nearly as nice. Maybe it once was, but not now. It's cheaper than the others, and there is a reason for that.

The front desk staff was indifferent on check-in. I stayed in two rooms. The first bathroom sink drained so slowly that a trickle of water from the tap filled it up, and I had to wait for it to drain before turning on the tap. The shower volume is not adjustable, and the drain was so slow that I wound up standing over ankle-deep in water. The shower curtain was so flimsy it clung to me from the air flow created by the shower, and was so short that the floor was flooded before I realized it. I was moved to a "better" room. There was gunk and crud around the floors of both bathrooms I stayed in, especially around the door frames. The second room would have had a nice view if the windows had not been so grimy. The room decor is straight out of Holiday Inn - in other words, cheap.

For those with a car, the only practical option is hotel valet parking, which is pricey. However, in-and-out access is unlimited, and the bellmen did a very good job of bringing the car promptly. If only the rest of the staff had been as conscientious. The concierge (if there really was one) was AWOL. Misinformation from the front desk about the trolley schedule resulted in a very long walk back from John Street one night.

The location is very good, just a block north of Broad Street, which puts the hotel between the old historic business district and the old historic residential section between Broad and the Battery. The location is about all The Mills House has going for it, and there are some 3-diamond lodgings just up the street.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Queen Street (noise from morning deliveries) and rear higher floors (noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

All over great experience. Located in the heart of downtown Charleston. Walking distance to great shopping on King Street, the Charleston Market. And great attractions like the Battery and Washington Square. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping service was good with turn down service in the evening. Valets were friendly and very fast. We got room service for breakfast one morning which was good and timely. We also ate breakfast in the Barbados Room which was excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which is the top floor- we heard howling at night which was either the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We still at the Mill House 13 years ago and loved it. Could it be as great as we remembered? It was! My husband and I went there for my birthday and it didn't disappoint us. Super southern hospitality, rooms that are interesting - not your basic standard room, and great historical charm. Great place for honeymooners, too!

The location is perfect for walking around. Lots of great restaurants , including Poogan's Porch and Husk right across the street. Only one block to King Street for shopping.

Thanks, Mill House for making my Birthday special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...we could see the front street, steeples, and the water all from our win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,634 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £154 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing