We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We stayed here for about a week. The room was clean, the location was great. Close walk to Market Street and shopping. There is a nice french style cafe around the corner. Staff was friendly, courteous. Room was small. We were on the executive level floor. The free breakfast was adequate. I am not sure if it is worth splurging for though. You definitely pay for location at this hotel. It was nice, I was glad we paid hotwire price. Their normal rate I think is too high for what you get. Overall, we had a good experience, but just don't think their regular rates fit the hotel. If you can get a good rate on hotwire or priceline or somewhere, I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,455 - 3,461 of 3,573 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2008

If you book through the Holiday Inn site this hotel can be a bit pricey. We saved about 50% going through hotwire. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Charleston. Parking is expensive, but is at the same rate as the city lots so you are not out any money. The room was neat, clean and well decorated. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but did have room service. The food was good and the service was prompt. The hotel staff in general was friendly and go out of their way to assist you. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Hey reader, I am going to keep this short and simple for you. The Mills House is flat out cool and a good place to stay. If you are visiting Charleston for the first time or the fifth time, stay here if it meets your budget. I was able to find a good rate on Priceline when we stayed here. I thought the services were just average and the check-in a bit slow, but that was ok. I was here for convenience.

This is a nice, old hotel with nice furnishings, modest services and decent food offerings. However, if you're staying here in downtown Charleston, don't eat at the Mills, get out! Charleston is such a great city for culture, history and food, get out. The hotel food is overly priced in my opnion compared to what is available in area restaurants. Many places are within walking distance of the hotel and it totally beats staying 10 miles north and driving into the city on the highway, paying for parking and walking around.

You should stay here for good accomodations and convenient walking/shopping/exploring.

I can't say enough about Charleston, see the museums, see the sights, visit plantations, come back again and again. You will not be disapointed at the Mills House as long as your intentions are to stay and enjoy old historic Charleston and you're looking for a convenient, enjoyable setting. Happy travels.

DB

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in March. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Bar and restaurant were good - not great, but more than adequate. Rooms were a bit on the small side, but average sized for a historic property.

We booked through Hotwire (but knew ahead of time which property it was through betterbidding. com) and were treated as well as any other guest. Pool is seasonal and was closed in March. We did park in the adjacent city parking structure instead of valeting the car because I knew we wouldn't be using it during our stay - it was considerably less expensive and very close.

Very convenient to all the tourist sites - perfect location. Take the guided walking tour ($20 person) that leaves from the lobby. It was fun and very informative.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We were on a tour and this hotel was the last stop. We had 3 nights with the tour and one on our own.
I found the location to be very convenient to walking to the Battery area and even to the Charleston Museum or the Aquarium (if you enjoy long walks).
The breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh.
I found the people at the front desk and the concierge to be very helpful and pleasant.
The room we had was on the 4th floor, facing the street but was quiet for sleeping at night.
The room was large enough and very comfortable and nicely decorated.
The only complaint I have is that the bathroom was tiny and awkward due to that.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

In our past stays at Priority Club Hotels, we have reserved an Executive Level King room. They have always been large rooms along with their particular amenities. We were very surprised at the small sized rooms on the Club level of the Charleston Mills. We were so disappointed that we contacted the management upon check in and told them that we would like a larger room the next day. At 8:30 a.m., we contacted the front desk manager and she said she would see what she could do. We recontacted them at 11:00 a.m., 12:30 p.m., and then at 2:30 p.m. Finally, at that time, the front desk gave us a key so that we might look at another room. We went to that room and it was exactly the same as the room we had, but on a lower floor and not on the Executive level! Why she would have wasted our time with this is unknown. We returned to the front desk and reiterated that we wanted a larger room. At that point the manager very snippily told us that our room was a standard King room (not what we reserved) and that was all that was available.

The last time we stayed at the Charleston Mills, it was before the renovation, and it was an unpleasant stay because the hotel was obviously in need of updates. We decided to give the hotel another chance since it was renovated in 2007. In spite of these renovations, the bathrooms were dirty (dark fingerprints on back of bathroom door and hair in the bath), the "Club Level Breakfast" was incredibly bad, with stale muffins and unripened fruit. For the amount of money paid, you should simply give the club level guests coupons for the buffet downstairs. We are still not sure what the club level means, since the rooms are exactly the same as the rest of the hotel.

The final insult occurred upon check out when we had to wait 30 minutes for our car to be brought around by the valet.

It is inexcusable that a hotel in a competitive market such as Charleston's could have service as bad as this. We have learned our lesson, and we will not give the Charleston Mills any more chances. A copy of this letter is being sent to AAA.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed there while attending a meeting in Charleston. Our experience was very positive. The staff was excellent. Because we were staying six nights they were kind enough to give us a room upgrade. Great outdoor facilities. The location is very good. The next time we return to Charleston this will be our first choice of hotels. A good bargain for the price.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Drkbjk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,972 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,159 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £162 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing