We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hartwell, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I loved the location of this hotel. It is right in the thick of things in historic downtown Charleston. Walking distance to practically everything: The Market, King St. shops, The Battery and all the good restaurants. We thought the price was a little high for the room we booked. It was a standard pool view with two full beds. I guess you pay mostly for the location. All and all it was a great trip, but next time we will stay in a little nicer room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    1,015
    339
    148
    59
See reviews for
765
1,324
85
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay at a gorgeous, historic hotel. This was the perfect hotel for the downtown area. We were in walking distance to great shopping and dining. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are very nice with very comfortable beds. We had room service one morning and the breakfast was yummy The pool is very nice. My only complaint is the bathrooms are tiny but no problem We will definitely stay here again. Loved it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliemom1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our second time at The Mills House and must say our visit this time was wonderful!
The staff were all very friendly, I honestly can say everyone was so very accommodating. We took our bikes with us for the weekend, they were able to store them close by so whenever we needed them they were right there for us to use at any time. Loved that!
Our room was beautiful with views of the harbor, beds were very comfortable, bathroom was small, a little dated but nothing that bothered us at all.
Breakfast was wonderful, staff was always friendly with a smile on their faces- it was beautiful just to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air.
We loved the bartender (her name which I am upset that it is escaping me, I believe it was Annie) she was extremely friendly and provided us with some wonderful tips around the area which we took advantage of thanks to her. Truly a gem of a lady!
The pool looked very nice although we did not take advantage of it during our stay but was very inviting!
All and all a great weekend! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our second trip. Furnishings showing a lot of wear. My reservations were for a balcony room for two nights. Hotel overbooked and it was not available for the first night. Received two comp. breakfasts and the price was cut in half for the first night. We will not stay here again. Some mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Mills House combines tradition with all the modern features you might want. The service from all categories of staff was excellent. The room was comfortable and had the necessary amenities. The restaurant and the bar are quite good, and the Sunday brunch was a nice experience. And of course, this hotel has a great location for exploring the Historic District. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing