We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
John Rutledge House Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lodge Alley Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,667)
Filter reviews
3,667 results
Traveller rating
1,940
1,112
380
167
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,940
1,112
380
167
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarbadoes roomgreat locationbarbados roompoogan's porchqueen streetwithin walking distanceholiday innhistoric districtvalet parkingbeautiful courtyardrooms are smallcorner roommeeting streetsouthern charmper daycharming hoteldowntown charleston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,546 - 3,551 of 3,667 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2008

A great place to unpack your bags while visiting charming Charleston. After much deliberation about where to stay, this was the spot. Great location, helpful staff, especially Katie at the front desk! The dining room for breakfast or a late aftenoon drink, tea was wonderful, Beautifully appoint lobby and public area. Althoguh room and bathroom a bit small, even on executive floor, we had a onderful time and went back for a final night in this town. Convenient to everything close to the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We stayed here for about a week. The room was clean, the location was great. Close walk to Market Street and shopping. There is a nice french style cafe around the corner. Staff was friendly, courteous. Room was small. We were on the executive level floor. The free breakfast was adequate. I am not sure if it is worth splurging for though. You definitely pay for location at this hotel. It was nice, I was glad we paid hotwire price. Their normal rate I think is too high for what you get. Overall, we had a good experience, but just don't think their regular rates fit the hotel. If you can get a good rate on hotwire or priceline or somewhere, I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

If you book through the Holiday Inn site this hotel can be a bit pricey. We saved about 50% going through hotwire. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Charleston. Parking is expensive, but is at the same rate as the city lots so you are not out any money. The room was neat, clean and well decorated. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but did have room service. The food was good and the service was prompt. The hotel staff in general was friendly and go out of their way to assist you. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Hey reader, I am going to keep this short and simple for you. The Mills House is flat out cool and a good place to stay. If you are visiting Charleston for the first time or the fifth time, stay here if it meets your budget. I was able to find a good rate on Priceline when we stayed here. I thought the services were just average and the check-in a bit slow, but that was ok. I was here for convenience.

This is a nice, old hotel with nice furnishings, modest services and decent food offerings. However, if you're staying here in downtown Charleston, don't eat at the Mills, get out! Charleston is such a great city for culture, history and food, get out. The hotel food is overly priced in my opnion compared to what is available in area restaurants. Many places are within walking distance of the hotel and it totally beats staying 10 miles north and driving into the city on the highway, paying for parking and walking around.

You should stay here for good accomodations and convenient walking/shopping/exploring.

I can't say enough about Charleston, see the museums, see the sights, visit plantations, come back again and again. You will not be disapointed at the Mills House as long as your intentions are to stay and enjoy old historic Charleston and you're looking for a convenient, enjoyable setting. Happy travels.

DB

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in March. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Bar and restaurant were good - not great, but more than adequate. Rooms were a bit on the small side, but average sized for a historic property.

We booked through Hotwire (but knew ahead of time which property it was through betterbidding. com) and were treated as well as any other guest. Pool is seasonal and was closed in March. We did park in the adjacent city parking structure instead of valeting the car because I knew we wouldn't be using it during our stay - it was considerably less expensive and very close.

Very convenient to all the tourist sites - perfect location. Take the guided walking tour ($20 person) that leaves from the lobby. It was fun and very informative.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews