We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2008

My stay at the Mills House was great, the room was nice, the location was perfect, the lobby/bar/employees were wonderful, nice and helpful. This was my boyfriends first time to Charleston and you had a great time and wants to go back. I have referred the Mills House to my family and friends. The location of the hotel was in the historic part of the city so the view out our window was beauitful. I recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank macamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,350 - 3,356 of 3,472 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2008

This hotel is well placed for the historic district of Charleston and has parking (22$ a day). Large busy place with very friendly and attentive staff, unusual for such a busy hotel. Bar very pleasant and good breakfast available.

We had a petite suite - and am glad because I think the regular rooms are rather small. Our room was large, with a huge TV and spacious seating area. The bathroom was small even by UK standards.


Helpful concierge

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosesGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

The Hotel is within convenient walking distance to downtown Charleston. It is elegant, but the rooms are small. The bathroom is very small. We stayed on the executive floor & found it to be quiet. The service is hit & miss. We had to call for clean towels, and sometimes they would do the bed turndown, and sometimes not. You might get breakfast delivered when you ordered it, or you might not. Inconsistent. They offer a breakfast buffet, and some days it might be open the hours they say, or as in our case, they shut it down 45 minutes early, & we only had 10 minutes to eat. Overall, we found their service to not be at the level that their pricing might suggest. They want to charge a lot of money, but you don't always get a lot of service. We wouldn't stay there again, as there are a lot of other nice hotels in very close proximity.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PROBABLYKNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

A great place to unpack your bags while visiting charming Charleston. After much deliberation about where to stay, this was the spot. Great location, helpful staff, especially Katie at the front desk! The dining room for breakfast or a late aftenoon drink, tea was wonderful, Beautifully appoint lobby and public area. Althoguh room and bathroom a bit small, even on executive floor, we had a onderful time and went back for a final night in this town. Convenient to everything close to the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We stayed here for about a week. The room was clean, the location was great. Close walk to Market Street and shopping. There is a nice french style cafe around the corner. Staff was friendly, courteous. Room was small. We were on the executive level floor. The free breakfast was adequate. I am not sure if it is worth splurging for though. You definitely pay for location at this hotel. It was nice, I was glad we paid hotwire price. Their normal rate I think is too high for what you get. Overall, we had a good experience, but just don't think their regular rates fit the hotel. If you can get a good rate on hotwire or priceline or somewhere, I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

If you book through the Holiday Inn site this hotel can be a bit pricey. We saved about 50% going through hotwire. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Charleston. Parking is expensive, but is at the same rate as the city lots so you are not out any money. The room was neat, clean and well decorated. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but did have room service. The food was good and the service was prompt. The hotel staff in general was friendly and go out of their way to assist you. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Hey reader, I am going to keep this short and simple for you. The Mills House is flat out cool and a good place to stay. If you are visiting Charleston for the first time or the fifth time, stay here if it meets your budget. I was able to find a good rate on Priceline when we stayed here. I thought the services were just average and the check-in a bit slow, but that was ok. I was here for convenience.

This is a nice, old hotel with nice furnishings, modest services and decent food offerings. However, if you're staying here in downtown Charleston, don't eat at the Mills, get out! Charleston is such a great city for culture, history and food, get out. The hotel food is overly priced in my opnion compared to what is available in area restaurants. Many places are within walking distance of the hotel and it totally beats staying 10 miles north and driving into the city on the highway, paying for parking and walking around.

You should stay here for good accomodations and convenient walking/shopping/exploring.

I can't say enough about Charleston, see the museums, see the sights, visit plantations, come back again and again. You will not be disapointed at the Mills House as long as your intentions are to stay and enjoy old historic Charleston and you're looking for a convenient, enjoyable setting. Happy travels.

DB

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,261 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,634 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £154 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing