We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Mills House has a reputation as a great property in a great city - and I imagine that once their renovation is complete, it will be again. We booked for Christmas Eve as a special treat, and while it was nice, it wasn't up to the level of other places I've stayed in downtown Charleston at Christmastime (Charleston Place, Wentworth Mansion). The famous "Best Friend" bar was completely closed for renovation so they'd done a makeshift bar area near the restaurant that was just ok (banquet table rounds instead of 4-tops or cocktail tables), and the hallway carpet on our floor (7th) was clearly pre-renovation.. However, the room was clean -- although fairly small -- and the service was excellent. From check-in to the bartender to room service; all were top-notch. So it seems the staff is making the best of a less than ideal situation. Just wish the website had indicated the bar & other rooms were closed due to renovation, and the room price reflected that. Looking forward to trying again once reno is complete.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,410 - 2,416 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Theatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you're visiting Charleston, this hotel is in a prime location and rich in history. It's located right downtown, and it's within walking distance of downtown and the shore. The staff is super-friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little small, but other than that, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My sister and I come here for girls weekends and really can not be more pleased. We love the location. Being in the midst of downtown Charleston is a must. So nice to have the valet park the car upon arrival and never need it again. The hotel is older so the rooms are a bit smaller in size but the appointments are great. Breakfast in the courtyard each morning is always a good way to start the day. The staff is always helpful in recommending places off the beaten path to go and explore. When I come to the states for a visit and we get a chance for a short get a way weekend in Charleston - this is always our hotel of choice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Made a reservation for the Mills House sight unseen. DO NOT use the 800#. I got an operator who tried to sell me on another hotel telling me Mills House was booked. He was relentless. I hung up and called Mills House directly. The staff went out of their way to accomodate me. Yes there was availbility and they would be sure to put me on the 7th floor that will have already been renovated when I get there (i didn't know about the renovations). Breakfast will be included. I had 2 rooms (me and family) and both were great! We were there for 4 days and the entire staff was extemely accomodating. The location is wonderful and close to many great restaurants, the market, galleries, etc. once the car was parked I never needed it again. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam29928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,972 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,156 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £162 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing