We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My only complaint was with the bathroom. I know that the...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“My only complaint was with the bathroom. I know that the...”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My only complaint was with the bathroom. I know that the hotel is old and the bathroom space is what it is, but there is no place to put any personal items, cosmetics, toothbrushes, toothpaste etc. It would also be good to have a lighted magnifying mirror on the wall. Also the bottom of the wall above the tub could use more grout and better cleaning

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    1,033
    350
    151
    59
See reviews for
786
1,356
86
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very charming and classic hotel near King Street shopping and just a couple blocks from Market St. We were here for a wedding with small kids and had no issues, small rooms and bathrooms, but just what you'd expect from an old, classic hotel. Almost a boutique feel for sure, not your typical Wyndham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank GoHeels1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved staying here. Clean, quiet and modern rooms but still has classic Charleston charm. We had a nice view of Charleston churches. Within walking distance of many lovely restaurants, shops, etc. This was my second stay at this property and would definitely stay here again. Consistently good hotel in one of my favorite cities. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmetto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were there for a 3 day meeting. Bellhop and check in service was excellent. We had been told the hotel had been rehabbed after becoming a Wyndham property. Our room was very nice and we assumed it was part of the rehab. We had no complaints on the accommodations.
Unfortunately, I could only get Wi-Fi by standing next to the door to the room. I had a project to complete and e-mail to a number of people on our second day and had to spend the better part of 3 hours in a chair by the door to retain my connection.
My other complaint applies to many major downtown hotels including The Mills House. Breakfast's are horribly expensive. I guess they assume you are a captive audience or on an expense account. They got us for our first breakfast but we ate the next two mornings at Eli's Table less than a block away and had an excellent and much less expensive breakfast.
On this same trip we stayed at two Marriott Courtyard's and found they have done away with expensive breakfasts and now have a number of low cost items available. Kudos to Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Love this historic hotel. Breakfast on the patio on a beautiful spring morning, pure magic. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is a consistent, reliable place to stay. The beds and sheets are luxurious, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Here are some staying tips to consider: Parking is in a city parking garage located next to the property. The garage has a walkway on the 4th floor. Try to park there for the shortest walk. The walkway takes you to the 2nd floor of the hotel. If you don't want to have to take the elevator, ask for a 2nd floor room. If you want a balcony overlooking Queen St, ask for a 2nd floor balcony facing Queen. It is a great place to enjoy the afternoon and evening and see some of the bustle on the street below. Lastly, while the hotel is close to downtown, there are some remarkable restaurants on Queen to consider, most notably Husk. The hotel is far enough away from the market to be quiet but not so far away that you can't walk. Certainly an agreeable hotel in a great location in Charleston.

Room Tip: As the city garage 4th floor walkway to the hotel has one entering on the 2nd floor, you will save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing