We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$537
US$503
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,670)
Filter reviews
3,670 results
Traveller rating
1,942
1,113
380
167
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,942
1,113
380
167
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarbadoes roomgreat locationbarbados roompoogan's porchqueen streetwithin walking distanceholiday innhistoric districtvalet parkingbeautiful courtyardrooms are smallcorner roommeeting streetsouthern charmper daycharming hoteldowntown charleston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,070 - 2,075 of 3,670 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Mills House last weekend for an anniversary trip. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was really nicely furnished and lovely common areas when you first walk in. We got the "It's Included Summer Escape" package which included valet, free wifi and $50 dining credit each day. We had breakfast each morning in the Barbados dining room. The food and service was very good. There is a nice patio, but the weather each morning was a little hot to have breakfast outside. All employees were extremely nice and always asked if they could do anything else for us. We had a King room on the 7th floor with great views of the city, but were on the street side. If you can, request to be on the pool side. The street side got a bit noisy during the night and early in the morning with delivery/trash trucks. The bed was comfy, but if you like a firmer pillow I would bring your own. They either have down or gel pillows which didn't offer much support. The room had plenty of space for the 2 of us. The bathroom was a little tight, but not too bad. The only trouble we had was our bill when we left. It did not include the discounts I booked so I had to request an adjustment to the bill. Also, valet was a little slow. They say to call 15-20 minutes ahead, but we waited around 30 minutes for our car the day we left. Other than that, we had a wonderful trip, would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChattyKathyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I want to first apologize for the delay in our valet services. We look to give every guest an efficient and speedy service and sometimes we get behind on completing that. We are overjoyed to see the rest of the stay was beyond your expectations. We aim to make every guest experience great and it seems we did that with yours. I hope that you decide to return and I will personally see to it that your vehicle is delivered in a timely fashion. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

An absolutely fabulous hotel right in the centre of Charleston. We stayed here for 2 nights and could have easily stayed longer. Our room looked out of the pool terrace, and was comfortable and clean. The pool was cold but refreshing after a long day sightseeing. There are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel – you really can't ask for a better location. Parking at the hotel is either in the multi-storey car park around the corner (connected to the hotel via a walkway) or through Valet parking (which is slightly more expensive). The hotel has a lot of character that added a lot to our stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardwkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed both your stay at our property and our beautiful city as well. Our goal is for each guest to sleep well and anticipate a return trip prior to check-out and it looks as if we have reached our goal with your family! Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was a very classy hotel, both inside and out, everyone we interacted with was very friendly. We had a great time there. My guess is that a lot of people writing negative reviews probably paid a lot of money, but since we got a good deal on the room, it felt very luxurious to us.

Overall customer service is really great. For example, there was a buzzing sound (like that of an A/C) in the first room that we were given - which my wife, who is sensitive to these sorts of things, noticed was throughout one wing of the hotel. Even though they were almost fully booked, they didn't bat an eye, and found us another room in a different area, that didn't have that problem.

The swimming pool was nice, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, valet parking was easy.

The location is unbeatable - right in the downtown area with quiet and beautiful historic neighborhoods in one direction, and the restaurant district in the other, not to mention a couple of the city's most famous historic-home restaurants right across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tholepin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you were beyond satisfied with our service. Please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to once again provide a "luxury" experience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with lots of character and great atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and clean. The courtyard/bar area is a nice area to hang around at. If you're looking for a nice place to stay that's close to everything this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our historic hotel and great location. We really do appreciate every comment and look to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews