We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HO HUM!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“HO HUM!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed during the week, for one night on Tuesday night. Not a lot of business so, since we live in Charleston and were celebrating out 42nd. anniversary, I worked the day and drove downtown arriving in the evening. We ask if we might be able to have a late checkout, since we were checking in, in the evening and the desk individual said sure, she could charge us for another half day ($75) and we could check out late the next day. I ask her how business was and she indicated slow. I can understand why.

While the room was fine and the hotel nice, good service might have made a future customer of theirs. As is, they must be hurting for money and certainly I'll have to think again before I consider their place in the off season.

Frank Smith

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsmith3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,632
    1,014
    339
    148
    59
See reviews for
765
1,324
85
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Region Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Mills House in late August. We had a great time. The room was spacious, easy access to restaurants, and easy to drive to. The front desk staff were great, along with the wonderful pool and lounge area.

The drinks at the bar were a little expensive, but on par with most hotel lounges.

Charleston is a great place to visit, we ate at some great restaurants, including Magnolias. Magnolias is by far one of the best restaurants we have ever been to.

My only complaint was the bed was a little soft (but comfortable) for my liking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevincherney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

After a bit of a challenge finding the hotel but with helpful directions from the front desk staff (the name Mills House is prominently displayed on the building but unfortunately I was looking for Holiday Inn!), we were happy to check in to the Mills House. The entire facility is lovely and my fourth floor room overlooking the pool was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we quite enjoyed our ability to use the hotel as a home base while we explored the city. When I return to Charleston, I will definitely stay here again. It has the feel of a small independent hotel with the benefits that being part of a chain provide.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerPhoenixville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed a night with our 3 teenagers in August; the location is great , in the heart of the historic district ;Hotel building is beautiful, fitting elegantly in the Historic District. Beautiful lobby,lovely courtyard and terrace, nice bar .At night, the boys appreciated the outdoor pool while we were having a drink on the terrace . We stayed on the 7th floor and the rooms were exactly as described on websites : nice decoration, good bedding, very clean.
We really enjoyed our stay here and found the hotel much better than the Holiday Inn Historic District, on Calhoun St, were we stayed 2 years ago. Parking: there is a cheaper public parking close by.
A real find in Charleston .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azigule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I read a lot of reviews and was very skeptical of my stay. I didn't know what to do as I read many different reviews. I am so picky as my rooms have to be VERY clean and pleasant to look at. I set high expectations. So we arrived and to my surprpise, I was VERY pleased with the hotel. The lobby was georgous and rich in history. The rooms were of decor fitting for theme and ambiance of the hotel, but again very clean. I really cannot complain about anything (which is rare) other than the bathrooms are VERY small. But considering the year the hotel was established, you would have to expect that. I would stay there again, no matter what the price. The location is excellent. Remember just use the desk area to get ready ladies !! Enjoy ..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanLuvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBUS, OHIO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I first stayed at the Mills House 35+ years ago, and it still maintains its high quality low country charm and service. Barbadoes Room has wonderful desserts - Mud Pie, Key Lime Pie and others. Have breakfast in the beautiful Courtyard by the fountain. Room was not huge but was very tasteful and had a fine view of the Charleston "skyline" - beautiful church steeples. The Mills House is more manageable than Charleston Place (also an excellent hotel) and has a more convenient location. It just exemplifies the beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETHICSTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The finest hotel we have ever stayed in!
Our stay at ‘The Mills House’ in Charleston, South Carolina was a truly unforgettable and phenomenal experience. The interior of this hotel was atmospheric and a vision to behold. The hotel was decorated with taste, passion, imagination and flair. Our bedroom was the epitome of comfort and luxury. The sheer individuality and character of this hotel make it must for anyone to stay! My husband and I are in no doubt that we will return to ‘The Mills House’ sometime in the near future.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dormouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing