We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic location! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute decision. The concierge was fantastic! On Saturday morning we ate breakfast at the farmers market across the street. There was live music and a really fun atmosphere. The hotel is walking distance from most historic sites and delicious restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for your feedback and joining us on your recent trip from Pennsylvania.

I would agree that the Farmer's Market is one of the best places to spend your Saturday morning in Charleston. It's location, directly across the street from our hotel, makes it extremely accessible as well. It is always an upbeat atmosphere and the food vendors there are incredible. The city requires all of the vendors to be from the local area, so you really get a taste of Charleston!

We hope you come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    468
    145
    33
    15
See reviews for
427
685
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Only had one day in Charleston and this hotel made it count. The room was clean and spacious, the hotel was well located but the best part was the concierge- Andrea. She pick the perfect restaurant for our family and the walking tour she suggested was the best tour of any city we have ever visited. it was the Tommy Dew walking tour, a must if you are visiting Charleston. Tommy is a walking history book. We highly recommend the hotel and Andrea the concierge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Richard K,

Thank you for your feedback and choosing our hotel for your vacation.

Andrea is a great asset to our hotel and does a wonderful job setting our guests up with the best places to tour and dine in Charleston. Your kind words will definitely help continue to motivate her to go above and beyond for our guests. It is great to hear that our concierge services continue to help our guests make the most out of their time in Charleston, even if it is only for one day.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and come back soon to try another one of Charleston's great restaurants.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

It was our first trip to Charleston and not knowing any better, we went with a familiar name at a reasonable rate. No regrets whatsoever! The Courtyard is in a great central location...we walked just about everywhere during our two-day visit. The property is clean and well-maintained, the room was also clean, well appointed and comfortable and the staff was exceptional. Like many previous reviewers, we had the pleasure of working with the concierge, Kevin, and what started out as an intended simple question or two, turned into a planned itinerary for our entire stay, including attractions, tours, restaurants and the off-the-beaten-track must sees in this charming city. We thought initially it was because we visited during a slow time of the year that he went well above and beyond what you'd expect from a typical concierge (especially at a 3-star hotel), but it soon became obvious that he absolutely loves the city and takes great joy in sharing his knowledge. Definitely a reason to come back. The only negative for the property, and it's a minor one, is the restaurant. Unlike many hotels of this star rating, breakfast is not included. They do have a small 'bistro' on site that serves a limited breakfast, lunch and dinner fare, but the prices are no bargain and with all the eatery selections within a short walk, only the worst of weather would have kept us in house. The advertised 'happy hour' seems a bit of a misnomer as well, since the prices seemed anything but happy. Again, no worries, plenty of nearby options. Regardless, if (when?) we come back to Charleston, the Courtyard will be a the top of our list for possible places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westtexgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear westtexgeo,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a top contributor on TripAdvisor.

Our location definitely offers our guests the ability to quickly access just about anything they would ever want to see in Charleston. It seems like our location and your experience with Kevin McQuade, our Chief Concierge, really made your trip an exceptional one. Kevin will work with our guests until he feels they are completely satisfied no matter how busy our hotel is and takes great pride in doing so.

I am sorry our Bistro Restaurant did not meet your expectations. As is standard with the Marriott Courtyard brand, we do not offer any complimentary options, but do offer a full A la carte menu. The food portion of our menu offers some delicious breakfast sandwich meals that are reasonably priced and are freshly prepared to order by our culinary team. Our Happy Hour offers $5 house liquor drinks, draft beers, and house wines from 5PM-7PM. I am sorry these items did not meet your needs and we will continue to look for alternative specials to offer our guests during this time period.

We look forward to your return to Charleston and thank you for staying with us here at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Kevin McQuade is the most amazing concierge. While everybody was nice from the front desk to the cleaning crew, Kevin makes the hotel exceptional. We stayed for two nights and the morning we arrived we asked him for a restaurant recommendation for that night. Instead he planned out our entire stay with relax time, tour time, lunch and dinner reservations everywhere, little hide-aways that are much sees, and so much more.

Okay, we did have an issue with cleanliness of the room upon first arriving, but within ten minutes this was resolved with an apology. They did not offer anything free or any discounts, and I appreciate this. Getting things right is most important. I can not stand it when a hotel thinks free and discounts can compensate for a lousy experience. Lucky for us, this was not a lousy experience, we were treated with respect, and kindness. The staff are all polite and the visit was a memorable experience thanks first and foremost to Kevin, and then the rest of the staff as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear vtdutchman,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind words about our Chief Concierge, Kevin McQuade. We are extremely fortunate to have someone of his caliber working with us here at our hotel and I agree that any hotel would be blessed to have them on their staff.

It is great to hear that our team executed our recovery process when there was an issue with your room. We strive to offer a perfect experience at our hotel, but when issues do arise it is paramount that they are addressed immediately with our guests and corrected to their satisfaction.

Have a happy holiday and thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Nice location. Walking distance to a lot of different places. We did have breakfast the next morning in their little restaurant and I kinda wish we didn't. Microwaved/toasted options basically.
The staff were really nice. The hotel room was clean and the room we were in offered a bit of a view of the park across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777zba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear L S,

Thank you for your feedback and being a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor.

You are correct that you can walk to just about anywhere from our location here in Charleston. Many of our rooms do offer a view of Marion Square Park across the street and some offer a view of a beautiful garden on the side of the building. The park offers a great place to take the kids to run around or just go lay down and read a good book.

I am sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef, Justin Morris, takes great pride in using the freshest ingredients and sourcing from local purveyors. All of our breakfast entrees are cooked to order and we only use our speed toaster oven for bagels, muffins, and pastries. We hope you will give our Bistro Restaurant another chance on your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and please come see us again on your next trip from Virginia.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Normally a concierge is reactive to our needs...not in this hotel. Kevin McQuade is a concierge who is passionate about his work and knows more about the city than you can imagine. From places to take great photos, to restaurants that may suit your taste, to knowing what is going on in the city that day, to the best cemeteries to visit....he doesn't just know it, he is passionate to share it. Cannot recommend him highly enough. Marriott would do well to clone this guy in all their hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear George N,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your trip from Florida.

Kevin is truly one of a kind and if we could clone him we definitely would. Reactive is not in his vocabulary as he is always looking for ways to make sure the guests are aware that he is available to take care of them. He knows the city better than anyone I know and is aware of everything from the most intimate events to the grandest of festivals in Charleston. I know he appreciates your kind words and they will definitely help continue to fuel his passion for what he does.

Please come visit us again soon in Charleston and thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location to access all of the historical areas. Room was roomy and the meal services downstairs were easy and convenient. As everyone has said, the concierge services are great if you touring. Michael was not on the day we visited but Andrea listened to what we were interested in doing and gave great advice for lunch and dinner. The maps she provided guided us exactly to where we needed to go to see the highlights in an organized fashion. Would definitely stay here again if we come back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear CaliforniaMD,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with on your visit all the way from California!

I couldn't agree more that our location is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit all of the historical areas of Charleston. You can walk out our door and be steps away from anything you want to see.

It is great to hear that Andrea took great care of you and got you some of Kevin's specialized maps that make touring the city so much more enjoyable. These maps do save you time that can be used for visiting other attractions, eating, or just enjoying yourself in general.

We will look forward to your return to Charleston and hope you had a safe trip home.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing