We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the rate- stay for the Concierge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Go for the rate- stay for the Concierge.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is what I have come to expect of most Marriott properties- There is an abundance of updated décor and a serious management led dedication to guest satisfaction. The lobby greets you in the current bistro theme, sleek and engaging with places to sit....everywhere. The staff is quintessential Marriott, friendly, fast and efficient. The rooms are dressed in the newest brand colors and deep rich wood tones. We had a corner room that was set off by a huge pair of near floor to ceiling windows overlooking Calhoun street and Marion Park (room 228 if you can get it).
The mattresses are nearing replacement or should be, although that may be my years of hard living coming back to haunt me.

In spite of all of the Marriott efficiency, the great location and execution, the real reason to stay at this location is found in the main lobby. Kevin McQuade (the head Concierge) can be found seated at his desk imparting an exuberance about the Holy City that is hard to replicate or describe. His knowledge of the unseen Charleston is encyclopedic and is often backed up by dog eared visual aids that he produces on cue. He has invested himself in the city and in the knowing of small interesting things about the city- and he'll tell you- both.

Excellent. Show up for the consistent excellence of Marriott but stay for the (often cited) unparalleled Concierge.

Room Tip: 228 for a good view of the church and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horizonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear horizonlight,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staying with us on your trip from Georgia.

Service is always our first priority here at our hotel and it looks like we executed this to the level we would like to achieve during your stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in almost every facet.

Kevin is definitely invested in our city in a way that not many people can say they are. He knows every back alley and small piece of history that you would never get to see on any tour of the city. His visual aids, pictures, maps, and menus only enhance the experience and give our guests an even better understanding of the Holy City. We are glad he was able to share his knowledge with you during your stay.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    478
    151
    35
    18
See reviews for
444
693
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A friend and I visited charleston for New Years. We randomly decided on this hotel, but it was perfect. Ideal location (halfway between the touristy market street and the bars/restaurants/parties on upper king). The other notes on TripAdvisor about the concierge, Kevin McQuade, are spot on. He totally enhanced our experience, made fantastic dining recommendations and got us on the best city tour I could've asked for! Stay at this hotel and see Kevin, you'll have a good time!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiemilr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Katiemilr01,

Thank you for our feedback and staying with us on your New Years trip from Washington, DC.

I hope you enjoyed ringing in the New Year in Charleston and took advantage of our prime location that you noted in your review. Kevin McQuade is a must-see when visiting our hotel and it is always great to hear the impact he makes on our guests. It sounds like he made sure you had a fantastic time in Charleston and started 2014 the right way!

Please come visit us again soon in Charleston and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a great hotel but what really makes it stand out is Kevin McQuade the head concierge-it's a full service concierge-they will book your tours and restaurant reservations for you. Every recommendation he made was spot on! The location is also decent-downtown but right across from a gas station for those driving.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the higher floor they have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deannread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear deannread,

Thank you for your feedback and being a senior contributor on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that Kevin took care of your every need and that his recommendations were exactly what you were looking for. Kevin has the ability to really "make things happen" as opposed to just pointing you in the right direction and this is what keeps bringing people back to him time and time again.

We hope you had a safe trip back to Boston and please come see us again soon.

Thank You,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was to taste, including the updated amenities, fitness room, (semi-) heated outdoor pool, and great service. However, the wing of the floor I stayed on was very noisy, and even after I put in ear plugs and pulled the pillow over my head, I could hear the television of the room next to me. Doors all down the hall seemed to be slamming every ten minutes as well (they were very heavy, and the next morning even when I tried to shut mine quietly, it still banged). All in all, it was pleasant but not soundproof!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMTinLancasterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear EMTinLancasterPA,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your trip from Pennsylvania.

Our pool, fitness, service, and other amenities definitely offer our guests a number of things to do while staying with us and we are glad you were able to enjoy them all while staying with us.

I am very sorry you were not able to get a good night's sleep while staying with us here in Charleston. We have addressed the issue you experienced with your door and the others in the surrounding rooms. A slamming door is no way to start your day or end your day and not an experience we want you to have at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know about this issue so that our engineering team could address it immediately. I apologize again that you were not able to enjoy a sound night sleep during your stay with us.

Thank you for your helpful feedback and we hope you will offer us the opportunity to let you enjoy a uninterrupted night's sleep in the future.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What you need to know PROS:
1. The concierge is VERY helpful to plan what to do, get dinner reservations (don't think you can walk in for a table at 5:30! pm; Charleston eats early), figure out where to get stuff. You get the most bang if you call before your trip; he'll suggest a great itinerary and great restaurants AND secure the reservations. He has won the highest international honors for his services in his profession.
2. The entire service staff is very kind and helpful.
3. The location is good (there's more to Charleston than just the pre-1700 southern tip).
4. Charleston is interesting and full of charm by day and evening/night; no need for the trimmings of a B&B just to sleep!
5. Easy, plenty of parking ($16/day).
6. Fridge (not minibar) in room (esp. useful if traveling with little ones).

What you need to know CONS:
1. Bed and pillows were okay (not great), but for some reason, both my spouse and I did not sleep well the entire time (5 nights); might have been the thermostat: if the room is colder than the setpoint, the heater goes on; if the room is warmer, the AC goes on! Doesn't matter whether it's the heating or cooling season. Thermostat appears incapable of simply turning the unit *off* when the setpoint is reached and turning back on when setpoint and ambient temp do not match. Most irritating.
2. Slow elevators that are additionally tied up by lack of service elevator for staff. Bad if you're on the top floor with a 16 mo. old.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couplew16mold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear couplew16mold,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent vacation from our nation's capitol.

It seems that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities offered at our hotel to include our concierge services, hotel staff, location, history, parking and in-room refrigerator. I am glad these amenities were able to help you enjoy your time in Charleston and your stay with us here at the hotel.

I apologize about the issues you encountered with your thermostat and speed of our elevators. Our engineering team has addressed the issue with the thermostat to ensure this does not occur again. Fluctuating air temperature is not something we want our guests to worry about during their stay here in Charleston. We did have a number of large wedding parties staying with us during your stay that unfortunately tied up the elevators as they all travel to and from events at the same time. I can see how this would be frustrating when travelling with a 16 month old and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us here in Charleston and we hope you will give Kevin the opportunity to plan out your next vacation & stay with us here at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

All smiles here.Thad was the first to greet us,and was very informative and helpful everytime we saw him.There was a bar with plenty room with tables and stools,served as a Starbucks breakfest bar in the a.m. We were there Dec 27-30.Fully staffed,always someone nearby to help. Pool was clean,as was all of hotel.Extra comfy bedding.Dosent have best views,but is easy walking to everything.Easy to get pedi-cabs,most local fares were $11 for 2 ppl.Cabs a little cheaper.Charelston great town full of apparent history,food,music and clubs.Very adult town.Would stay here again.But it is pretty basic.Thanks again Thad!

Room Tip: Our room on the backside of hotel on top floor were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Trixie d,

Thank you for your kind words about our customer service and for staying with us on your trip from Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

"All smiles here" is a wonderful thing to have someone say about our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. It seems that you were able to enjoy our service, pool, and restaurant during your stay with us and found them all to meet your expectations. I would agree that the pedi-cabs are a great & unique way to get around Charleston. They offer a nice alternative to the usual cab service offered around the country and are very reasonably priced.

Thad is definitely one of our most valued employees and is a great first impression for our guests. He is constantly greeting our guests in the valet & lobby areas and offering any assistance he can whether it is help with luggage or recommendations for a great place to grab lunch.

I will be sure to make sure Thad is recognized for his service and thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Charleston.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute decision. The concierge was fantastic! On Saturday morning we ate breakfast at the farmers market across the street. There was live music and a really fun atmosphere. The hotel is walking distance from most historic sites and delicious restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H9695QYjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for your feedback and joining us on your recent trip from Pennsylvania.

I would agree that the Farmer's Market is one of the best places to spend your Saturday morning in Charleston. It's location, directly across the street from our hotel, makes it extremely accessible as well. It is always an upbeat atmosphere and the food vendors there are incredible. The city requires all of the vendors to be from the local area, so you really get a taste of Charleston!

We hope you come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing