We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff...smelly room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We were only in Charleston 1 night and booked this hotel through hotel tonight. The hotel was clean and modern and while we were on the road we called the infamous concierge Kevin and he was helpful and made us our dinner reservations. When we checked in, the front desk was friendly and courteous. The room was pretty and clean. But there was a terrible mildew smell in room number 336. We never complained because we checked in at 630 pm and we checked out at 10 am. But be weary of the smell. We would definitely stay here again because it was a perfect location, but I will make sure to ask for a room without a smell next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Nikpass,

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us using the HotelTonight App.

I am glad you were able to experience the wonderful service offered by Kevin McQuade, our Chief Concierge, as well as our Front Desk staff. I am very sorry we were unable to meet your-or-our expectations on the freshness of your room. I can assure you that we will address this issue immediately with our housekeeping staff immediately so that we do not have any future issues with smell. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to address this issue.

Please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com when booking your next trip to Charleston and I will ensure your room is of the highest quality.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

My stay was amazing my room was great. The bed was very comfortable I had wonderful view of the pool and the harber
And I have stayed two times and had great service and it is right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear jayne_net,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on the short trip down from Columbia, SC.

It is great to hear that you had an amazing time during your second stay with us here in Charleston. We hope you will continue to choose our hotel for the service experience and location right in the middle of town. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is how every hotel staff should be--Front desk staff who are so welcoming and cooks in the little kitchen/bar who made you feel at home (sharing some recipes, cooking delicious breakfasts). All of us in our group agreed that we would come back.

Room Tip: They're under some construction now, so a limited number of rooms, but we never heard any noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steely M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Steely M,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your trip from Pittsburgh.

The friendliness of our staff is our most important attribute and we are extremely happy that you were able to experience their Southern hospitality during your stay. We are fortunate enough to have great people working at our front desk and in our restaurant. These individuals really make this hotel a special place to come stay.

We hope to see you and your group back in Charleston soon.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My two sisters, mother and myself stayed in January the hotel is immaculate. Great gym. Comfy beds. Fantastic location, between the historic district and King St action. We could walk everywhere. However, what set our stay apart was our experience with Kevin (concierge). He is passionate about his work and Charleston. Kevin was attentive and listened to what we wanted to do. He helped organize tours, and reservations. He also has a list of highlights (and bathrooms) of the historic area. We especially loved our magical evening tour. All his recommendations are bang on all you have to do is trust then enjoy! We've all travelled all over the world and can't say we've ever had a hotel concierge quite like Kevin. Thanks for helping make it a truly memorable experience

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear KAW62,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us from North Vancouver.

Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and they will continue to be motivated to do so thanks to feedback like yours. Our gym is very spacious and offers everything from cardio to free weights and is complimented by a very comfortable bed to rest on after a tough workout.

Trusting Kevin with your plans is the way to go and it sounds like you made the right choice in doing so. We are constantly encouraging even the most seasoned travelers to give him five minutes of their time as he can truly turn your trip into a one of a kind experience.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have stayed at a lot of Marriotts but never have we had the kind of concierge service that we had from Kevin on our great stay in Charleston!. From a simple, "Where would you recommend for dinner tonight?" request, he had us booked into great restaurants for lunch and dinners for 2 days and had the best recommendation for a walking tour the next morning with Anne Middleton Herron of "Charleston Walking Tours".

He is passionate and knowledgeable about the city and even supplies his own maps with his own recommendations. Ask him about an "after dark walking tour". It was the highlight of our time in both Charleston and the low country.
Thank you Kevin!
Frank and Cathy, B.C. Canada

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear FrankNanaimo,

Thank you for your recent feedback and for staying with us on your recent trip from Canada.

Passionate is a great word to describe Kevin and I am so glad that you were able to experience the service and knowledge he has to offer. His maps and unique recommendations make our concierge desk one of the best in the country and something that brings people back to our hotel time and time again. We hope it will bring you all back to our hotel as well in the future.

Hope you had a safe trip back home!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed there last weekend. Received personal service from everyone. From Candace at check in to Kevin the concierge, Selena at the café to Jimmy the cab driver. Great suggestions for shopping and restaurants. Rooms were clean and looked new.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Calhoun have some street noise but drapes are nice and thick and block out the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenMTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear BenMTampa_FL,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Senior Reviewer on TripAdvisor.

It is such a pleasure to hear that Candace at our front desk, Kevin our Chief Concierge, and Selena in our restaurant all took such great care of you. All three are tenured associates with us and are great examples of the level of service we strive to offer here at our hotel. We will be sure to share your kind words with them and make sure they are recognized for their service.

Thank you for your business and sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As first-time travelers to the Charleston area, my wife and I were very fortunate to secure travel advice and guidance from hotel concierge staff Kevin and Andrea. The highlight of our ten-day trip were the walking tours of Charleston, Savannah and Beaufort from guides Anne [Colonial Walking Tours], Savannah Dan, and Jon Sharp who plied us with tall tales of historical significant events and pointed out many sites of architectural prominence. We appreciated the local maps Kevin and Andrea provided us and the many points of interest [and good restaurants] they suggested for us to discover the charm, ambiance and vitality of the Charleston downtown, market and waterfront scene.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear James C,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your recent trip from Boston.

It is great to hear that both Andrea and Kevin provided you with excellent service and direction during your stay with us here in Charleston. It sounds like you were able to experience many of the charming places to visit here thanks to their maps and suggestions. A walking a tour is definitely a great way to get an authentic feel for the city and experience the rich history Charleston has to offer.

We hope you will join us again on your next trip down South!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £134 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing