We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel Well Situated for Historic District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Easy access to Historic District (1 mi. walk or free Trolley), College of Charleston, Ft. Sumter ferry (0.6 mi) and the Charleston Visitor Center.

Hot tip: We flew into CHS and took the NASH express bus ($3) to the Visitor Center. Voila! No rental car, no parking problems. Runs hourly, schedule on the CARTA website: http://www.ridecarta.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/CARTA_NASH_Express.pdf

We liked the hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Front desk was great and the Concierge was priceless.

The not-so-good:

- Housekeeping slipped up a few times, failing to refill the coffee and leaving a cleaning rag behind. Small things. The room was clean and in very good condition.

- A fair amount of late night street noise for rooms facing Calhoun St. Could be a problem if you're a light sleeper (I'm not).

- No complimentary coffee in the lobby. Now that Starbucks has a " blonde" selection, it's drinkable, but would rather not have to pay.

All told, I'd recommend although the property is rather expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear JKHuddy,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your trip down from Boston.

Great tip on the new NASH express as it is a very affordable and convenient way to get downtown from the airport! I am glad you found your room to be clean and in very good condition, but we will definitely follow-up with our Housekeeping to team to ensure that the other mistakes do not occur again. Unfortunately, the entire Courtyard Marriott brand did away with the complimentary coffee for 2014. We are unable to offer the free coffee due to this new brand standard, but you are correct that we do have a variety of Starbucks coffees available in our Bistro restaurant.

Thank you for recommending our property and we hope you will return to Charleston soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is walking distance to sights and restaurants in the historic district. Rooms are good sized and comfortable, although spring prices seem high. What makes this hotel unique, though, is the outstanding concierge service offered by Kevin McQuade and his team. Kevin has developed detailed walking maps of the city showing hidden alleys and viewpoints. He booked a car for us to drive out to the plantations, provided clear directions ,and recommended which ones to visit and which to skip. He even took us on a night tour of Charleston which felt like stepping back to an earlier era. The staff is very knowledgeable about restaurants, including some out of the way places with great food. . Their suggestions contributed to a great trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear 2nothome,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel on your trip all the way from Seattle and are very happy to hear your had such a great time at our hotel. Our concierge team does a great job of recommending great places to eat and see, but I am glad you also found the rest of our staff to be equally as knowledgeable about all of things Charleston has to offer.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in South Carolina soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

After spending 2 nights out in the Charleston suburbs – closer to the Plantations – we decided to spend 1 night in Charleston’s historic district at the Courtyard by Marriott. This hotel is ideally located and is an easy walk to the Main Visitor’s Center and to many of the sites within the historic district. The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable and was very quiet. Parking is an extra $15 per night in a garage/parking deck adjacent to the hotel with full in and out privileges. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. In addition to charging for parking, hotels in the historic district also do not provide the free breakfasts that are common in so many other hotels. However, there is an on-site coffee shop (café) that had a nice variety of reasonably priced breakfast items.

Due to its proximity to the historic area and the comfort of our room, I’d return here for another visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be near the historic district.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Jim H,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you sharing such a detailed review with us as it will help educate our future guests. Our location is centrally located so that you can walk to anything you would ever want to see in the Historic District. Parking is extremely limited in the downtown area, but we are one of a few hotels that offer on-site parking for a daily fee of $18. The ability to come and go as you please makes it very easy for our guests to head out to the beach, plantations, or other local areas without having to be constantly paying to do so.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope you will return soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Highly recommended. This is the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in, short of a B&B. Receptionists were very friendly and always helpful. The restaurant manager and the chef came around to check on how our lunch was. The location is very good, walking distance to the Battery park. Be sure to utilize concierge superb Kevin McQuade who is quick with the restaurant and walking tour reservations and has a library of his private tips for getting the most of your sightseeing time. Wonderful experience, sorry I had to leave.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank World H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear World H,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad that you found our staff to be so friendly and attentive during your stay. Our team takes great pride in the service they offer and will be so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Katherine Shidler & Justin Morris, our F&B Manager and F&B Director, do an incredible job of connecting with our guests in our Bistro restaurant and your review shows how important this personal touch is.

We hope you will not wait too long to come back and see us again and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at Marriott for my daughter to tour College of Charleston. Convenient location to C of C and to historic and shopping district. However, when we stepped off elevator onto 3rd floor, we immediately noticed a musty smell. Our room's odor was worse...mildewed tennis shoe smell. Should have complained to staff, but we were in a hurray to make our dinner reservation and assumed the AC would lesson the odor. My wife hung her clothes in the room closet, and the next day my daughter complained about the odor in my wife's clothes. Again, great location with convenient parking, but would not stay there again unless the odor was gone. Jim B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimB310106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear JimB310106,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your short trip from Columbia.

I apologize for the odor you experienced during your stay and the discomfort it created. Our housekeeping staff has checked our 3rd floor extensively to ensure it is smelling fresh and that all of our exhaust systems are providing fresh air to our rooms. Please do not hesitate to let our staff know about any issues you may have in your room upon you arrival, so that we can make sure you have the most comfortable stay possible. I hope your daughter will choose the College of Charleston to pursue her bachelors degree and that you will give us the opportunity to show you the experience we do offer our guests in the near future.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed two nights at this property and had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean and centrally located. I travel extensively and love to pre-plan everything, but after reading amazing reviews of Kevin, the concierge, I was looking forward to leaving everything to him. Kevin planned a fabulous vacation for my husband and I. We thoroughly enjoyed all of his suggestions. Because of him, we had a terrific, memorable time! The property should feel lucky to have such an enthusiastic, personable, wonderful employee. Thanks again, Kevin!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Cheryl G,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your trip down from Massachusetts.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us here in Charleston. Our service, cleanliness, and location all seemed to have exceeded your expectations. Leaving the entire planning exercise to Kevin is always a great idea and really pays off for our guests time and time again. Some guests are hesitant to leave such an important aspect of their trip to our concierge team, but the guests that do always come away saying that it was the most memorable experience they could have had.

We hope to see you back in Charleston again soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

During our six day stay, we received superb service from all, particularly Muriel, the bellhop, as well as the concierges, Kevin and Andrea. Everything from Kevin's private nighttime tour, to their recommendations for restaurants, beaches, and tours were spot on. Their attention to detail with special maps, directions, and menu suggestions were so helpful. We had a truly memorable Charleston experience thanks to them!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us here in Charleston.

Meril, Andrea, & Kevin all specialize in giving incredible service to our guests and we will definitely make sure they are recognized for their service to you. Meril has been a bellman with us for a number of years and is always there to greet our guests with a huge smile and a warm welcome. His presence in our lobby and valet areas gives our guests a glowing first impression of our hotel and something our guests continually comment about.

Thank you for your business and for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £135 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing