We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location,Friendly Staff,Helpful concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from a vacation with wife and found this hotel to be all that you can hope for in such a busy place.Convenient to most things and offering all the comforts of a modern hotel.Onsite parking relieved worry of having to scramble to find parking.Room was clean and beds were comfortable. I will stay here again next time in Charleston!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liljake64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is, of course, not one of those charming hotels or inns that you may be looking for if you are visiting Charleston, but if you prefer a chain hotel this one is great. It was very clean, open, modern, but still charming! The location was nice. We could walk to King Street and the Aquarium wasn't even a hike. The concierge seemed to be quite the Charleston expert. He had his own map with "out of the way" places, where to by water, and free public restroom locations. Not only that, he was obviously very passionate about his city - which I love! The valet was eager to help get us oriented and gave us a coupon for a carriage ride and map. All-around great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amlander_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed here during Spoleto. It was perfect in every way. Our room had a balcony, which was an added treat because we picked up breakfast and enjoyed it on the balcony while soaking in the sights and sounds below. We found the hotel to be delightful, no complaints, and perfectly located allowing us to walk all over the historic district. Kevin, the concierge, is the greatest asset the hotel has. He is so helpful and goes above and beyond to ensure you have the best experiences while in Charleston. He truly loves his job and the city. We followed his suggestions for tours, etc., and saw parts of Charleston and the surrounding area that most visitors never see. It was a very special time for us and a special thank you to Kevin for making it even more so.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear TravelGran2014,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel on your trip from Nashville.

We are so glad you were able to join us for the Spoleto Festival and that you had such a wonderful time at our hotel. I would agree that the balcony rooms in our hotel are well worth the extra few dollars it costs to upgrade to them. There is nothing better than enjoying breakfast or an evening cocktail while looking out over the city from your balcony.

Kevin will be delighted to hear that he made such an impact on your stay and that you felt like you had experienced the best of Charleston. He definitely loves this city and the role he plays in it.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This Courtyard is in a wonderful location, right in the historic district. It was clean and comfortable, with large rooms and very competent and helpful staff. None of the complaints I read on TripAdvisor turned out to have merit for us -- we experienced no musty smell at all, no noisy air conditioning, and we were already aware that Courtyard does not offer free breakfast anymore. Fine with us -- we had brunch at Blossom -- highly recommended. This is the best Courtyard we've ever stayed in, and I must say, ALL of the staff, from front desk to housekeeping, were superlative. We probably won't stay anywhere else in Charleston from now on. Kudos to the manager for running such a high end operation.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor overlooking the parking garage -- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynford100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear lynford100,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay and for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel and found our Courtyard to be the best you've ever stayed in. We will continue to offer the great service you experienced from our Front Desk and Housekeeping departments and look forward to your next stay with us here in Charleston!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard in April 2014 and had a wonderful visit, our first time. The concierge services provided by Amanda was perfect. She knows the City and did a great job of helping us see all the we had plan on plus more. Amanda provided information on the best places to eat, things to see, directions on how to get there, even where to stop and take a picture. BUT, I do wish that Kevin was not so insisting that we must have reservations for dinner because you do not always need them. The front desk crew was very helpful with directions and pointed us in the right direction a couple of times. We want to say THANK YOU to Katherine Shidler, the Food and Beverage Manager, she is EXCELLANT. We meet her quite by accident one night after coming back from dinner. Katherine is a wonderful person who took the time to just sit and talk with us almost every night after we had dinner. To her - THANK YOU for making our visit very special.

Room Tip: top floor, not street side, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear philipsjohn,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us and for choosing our hotel on your trip to Charleston.

Andrea and Kevin are a wealth of knowledge and it sounds like they were able to get you every piece of information you were looking for. The restaurants in Charleston are limited in table size and availability due to the space constraints in such a historic city. We do strongly encourage our guests to make reservations for dinner ahead of time as it is extremely difficult to walk in and be seated right away.

Your experience with Katherine, our Food & Beverage Manager, exemplifies her passion and personality that make her such an asset to our team. We continue to receive comments from our guests about how big of an impact she had on their stay and it seems she was able to make a lasting impression on yours as well. We will make sure she is recognized for her service and thank you for sharing the wonderful time you all had together.

We hope to see you back in Charleston soon and thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While there may be nothing spectacular about the public areas or the rooms (getting a bit dated?), the facility is clean and well-maintained.

Highlights: Master concierge, Kevin McQuade & his associate, Andrea B. They really add a special touch & make you feel that have your own personal travel advisor. Kevin & Andrea helped shape our stay (even before arriving) in the LowCountry w/their wealth of terrific tips about what to do, where to eat. great assistance in getting reservations for dining, logistics, special guides, e.g, Michael's historic-area walking tour, activities e.g. Charles Hunt's personal sailing, a kayaking guide, etc. Huge kudos to these folks!

Excellent grill for breakfast (not included in your room price). The grill concept (we've seen these in a number of Courtyards) is terrific. With the complimentary newspapers & individual booths that have their own t.v.s, you feel like you are at home but being pampered! Want a quick breakfast, take it & run or sit at a high bar table.

Excellent location, just two blocks from King Street, at the top end of historic area andr the low end of the emerging, redevelopment area.

Rooms had a nice hint of Japanese design. Outstanding desk/console for plugging in electronic devices, w/halogen lighting. There was an under-desk, which seemed redundant & got in the way of using the main desk. Nice sofa & chair seating area, terrific King bed. Good lighting throughout. Very spacious vanity area. Hair dryer failed & was immediately replaced. All the usual expected items from iron & frig worked well.

Room Tip: Higher floors for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear pfcoach,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your honest and thorough review of our hotel as it highlights so many of the reasons guests love our hotel. You are spot on with your description of our Bistro Restaurant that allows our business travelers a quick option and our leisure travelers the ability to relax in a booth before a big day on the town. Our location is just one block over from King Street and is walking distance from anything you want to do in the Historic District.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent venue and convenient location. Oatmeal was delicious with enough for two. The concierge services provided by Kevin and Amanda were prepared with excellent suggestions and superb organization.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dona709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Dona709,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your recent trip from New York.

I would agree that the oatmeal served in our Bistro Restaurant is quite delicious and the portion is easily shareable for two. The ability to add in the brown sugar, walnuts, or dried cranberries it comes with really make it a great way to start the day. Kevin and Andrea do a great job of preparing for each day and it sounds like their organization led to you getting setup with everything you needed.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in Charleston soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,145 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £135 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing