We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top-notch hotel in a top-notch city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A top-notch hotel in a top-notch city.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Courtyard Marriott in Downtown Charleston, and I must say that it was one of the best hotel experiences I’ve ever had.
The hotel staff could not have been friendlier; catering to our every need, including a somewhat late request for extra pillows! Everyone from the front desk staff, to hotel bartenders, and even management were eager to help out with questions about their favorite sightseeing, dining locations, and lively local clubs. All information was relayed with a smile and left you with the sense that they really cared about your stay in Charleston!
The rooms are immaculate, and equipped with everything you could need for a great stay in Charleston (we had a balcony!). As soon as you enter the lobby you receive that euphoric “ahh moment” that signifies your vacation has begun, but it doesn’t end there. The inside corridors leading to the rooms put you immediately at ease with a faint smell of vanilla, which makes you want to go straight down to the courtyard pool. Grab a drink from bar and lay out at the pool where you feel as though you’ve been transported to grounds of a southern mansion!
I cannot wait to visit Charleston again, not only because I love the city so much, but I know that I can stay at a hotel that matches this city’s uniqueness, elegance and southern hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a Meeting Street room with a balcony available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyScat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    482
    152
    35
    18
See reviews for
447
697
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The service at this hotel is 5 star. The staff from front desk to housekeeping was amazing. The best is the concierge who knows every nook and cranny of Charleston. If you have a question, he can answer it. It was a safe, reasonable walk to S. Market and the battery. We also used bike taxis and regular taxis a bit for getting around. Very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyG1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

As soon as you check in go see Kevin. He is really wonderful. He set us up to go on a walking tour with emphasis on architecture and history by a man named Ed Macy. He was really good, very interesting to listen to, very knowledgeable and he engaged my 13 year old boys too. Every restaurant he advised us to eat in was very good. He has all sorts of tips on where to get water, bathrooms, and other essentials that are not always apparent. He told us about some great tours some of which we did and he helped us map out our days so that we did not waste time. His advice about the plantations was spot on and I reviewed restaurants and activities separately. He was really helpful and very kind and really took into consideration who is in your group before suggesting activities. What a gem he is, Marriot is lucky to have him, as are the people who stay at the hotel. As for the hotel, it is a typical Marriot which I do not prefer for a couple of reasons. I like easy access to free coffee/tea in the lobby which they don't do and I like an easy free breakfast because I don't eat much at breakfast so I can usually find something like cold cereal or a yogurt. Other chain hotels which are less high end provide these things and people staying in a hotel with children usually appreciate free breakfast with the room. The beds were comfortable, and the room was fine. Gym was ok but I was very disappointed that the recumbent bike did not work and there was only one. Location was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm a Marriott member but this property did not hold to the standards and for the rate they charged for a very small room that believe me was not in any historic district. The staff was nice but it wasn't enough. The elevator was out so that didn't help matters. I can't recommend this property unless you are getting a great rate..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jan G,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us from Tennessee.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us during your stay and can understand how one of our elevators being under repair was a frustration. Waiting for an elevator is the last thing we want our guests to be doing, especially when they could be out on the town enjoying themselves in Charleston. The elevator has been repaired and I am sorry if it caused you any inconvenience during your time with us.

Our hotel is centrally located in the historic district of downtown Charleston and offers easy access to a number of historic sites in each direction. The ability to quickly walk to King Street, Market Street, historic homes, the waterfront, the aquarium, and all of the top restaurants in town make our location very desirable when traveling to Charleston.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff and I hope you will give us the chance to show you the experience we do offer on your next trip to Charleston. Please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com before making your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Centrally located - right across Marion Square diagonally. King Street is a block away. Market Street 5 blocks. Pleasant walk. Good restaurants are within a few blocks. Visitor Center is about 5 minutes walking distance. Location is very convenient.

Parking adequate - spillover parking lot is across the street. Front porch is a highlight - great area to relax. Standard Courtyard lobby and bistro food inside. Elevators efficient.

Good, clean rooms. View is ordinary. Overall efficient operations.

We were there during Spoleto Festival - hotel was booked solid - some weddings as well. Seemed a bit overpriced for amenites. Maybe due to the Festival weekend, the prices were on the higher side. Overall - recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confluence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Very close to Meeting and King streets. Not far from waterfront, aquarium, and numerous shops and restaurants. Great, friendly staff with a bistro and decent swimming pool. Rooms are spacious & comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here nearly entirely on the recommendations about the concierge. We were not disappointed. This hotel is in a great location - it is an easy walk to anything in the downtown historic district. The hotel itself is nice and more affordable than many of the other hotels in the area. If you want to drop the money on your hotel that is easy to do in Charleston, but this was very nice with parking and in a great location to actually get out and see the sites. As for the concierge, Andrea was great. She gets bombarded first thing in the morning at 8 and then again before dinner. Just plan accordingly and spend your time with her when you don't have to wait for others. She is a great asset to your trip - use her, but be respectful to her time and the other guests all trying to do the same thing! Overall it was a great stay - we would chose a Courtyard again as a result.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamDC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,130 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing