We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Nearby Hotels
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$315
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
US$224
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,659)
Filter reviews
1,659 results
Traveller rating
927
509
164
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
509
164
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskevin mcquadewalking tourchief conciergepublic restroomshistoric districtamazing conciergephoto opsnight tourtommy dewhis enthusiasmmorris islandconcierge serviceking streethelped us planmarriott propertiescru cafewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,659 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If the check in time of 4pm doesn't drive you nuts waiting, then don't worry about trying to find a parking space on the Hotel grounds - as they are very limited and you will be charged 18 dollars a day to park across the street. Then going in and out you will notice the delays in the elevator service - since there is only two small evleators for the whole Hotel. The hotel staff even complained about them and the time it takes for them to even get around, so take the stairs as it is a lot quicker - trust me on this. Some other things noticed were the limited selection of TV listings, food service slow which caused long lines, so we never ordered anything from here, poor wifi service, the room keys kept on needing to be re-keyed daily, the starbucks sign if for the same stuff you can but over the counter - very misleading. Overall, we won't ever stay or recommend this place to anyone. The only positive for this place was the location is within walking distance to downtown and everything may want to see.

Room Tip: street side would be the only view you will be able to see anything.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roger I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Roger I,

Thank you for taking the time give us feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have two large elevators that service our hotel and am sorry for any wait you encountered while trying to use them. You are correct in that we do have staircase access throughout the building which does give our guests a quick exit out into Historic Charleston. Parking is very limited in downtown Charleston due to it being such an old and smaller city. We do offer a two level garage attached to our building as well as a parking lot across the street to accommodate all of our guests.

I am sorry to hear that we did not have the TV channel you were looking for you during your stay. We do have a wide variety of channels to include HBO, ESPN, the NFL Network, Versus, FX, Bravo, the Food Network, the National Geographic channel, & many more. We will continue to listen to guest feedback and add any channels as viewing trends change.

Our Bistro Restaurant does brew & serve Starbucks coffee and beverages. All of our beverages are created to the exact specifications you would find in any stand alone Starbucks and use the same ingredients supplied to any Starbucks.

I am sorry again that your stay did not meet your expectations and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you the experience we do offer our guests at our hotel. I hope you were able to enjoy your time in Charleston and that the issues you experienced did not overshadow your trip. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to give us feedback on your trip.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on my first trip to Charleston for a wedding. I would definitly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Charleston. The front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly always seemed to be smiling. The housekeeping staff was helpful and always seem to meet your needs. The staff here reminded me of the staff at Disney, smiling always if the met you in the hallway you were greeted and asked if you needed anything. The concierge service was OK , I didn't use Kevin. the rockers on the front porch was a nice place to spend time. I also liked how close it was to most attractions. There is a park accross the street that had a market on the Saturday we were there and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: anything above the 3rd fl.........one side faces a street...quiet in the room from traffic
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solair1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on our first trip to Charleston. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all who are visiting Charleston. The staff was all very helpful in making our stay one to remember.

It was an amazing trip and it is all thanks to Kevin and the Marriott Staff. Upon arriving we asked the front desk for recommendations on where to eat on the first night. Without hesitation, she said you need to speak to our Concierge, Kevin McQuade. He is the best. After speaking with him and having an amazing weekend, I would say that is an understatement as he is much more than the best.

The first 24 hours was more than we could have ever asked. Kevin was able to ask those little questions and provide all that we were looking for on our first visit. His insight of Charleston was amazing. He set us up with an amazing dinner every night as well as a couple tours that gave us a great view of the city as well as the surrounding areas. He made every reservation and requested the best seats for each.

Setting us up with Anne Middleton was a perfect way to see Charleston during the day. She had a wealth of knowledge about Charleston and with her family roots there for 13 generations, she truly showed her love for Charleston throughout the tour.

On the second day we took a trip with Eco-Tours. It was great as well. We had a great time exploring the barrier island. We got to run into several dolphins and gather shells on the island. The staff was also very knowledgeable about the habitat in the waters around Charleston.

We enjoyed all the selections that Kevin helped us with for lunch and dinner. Macintosh the first night....loved the scallops. Lunch at Cru was fantastic. Dinner at Middleton's plantation was also very memorable. We walked around the grounds, took pictures with alligators and had a great dinner.

Thank you so much for taking an interest in us and making our trip so special. You have a talent for reading people and personalities and finding the perfect places for them to make the most of Charleston. You are definitely in a career you love and it is so evident that you take a genuine interest in the guests that put their trust in you.

Oh and don't miss walking around Charleston at night, it gives another view of a beautiful city walking down the alleys and cobblestone streets. Simply Amazing.

No doubt, this will be the place we stay when we return to Charleston!!!

Room Tip: Our room was nice and very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JBGeorgia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard for a two night visit to Charleston, SC on business and a quick mid-summer sightseeing trip. The Concierge Kevin McQuade is Great and can provide lots of assistance and knowledge about what you should do, where you should go in the city and where you can eat. The hotel was very nice, comfortable, clean, well appointed, located next to Meeting Street and about a 2 block walk from King Street. The Hotel is north of the main district and about 10 minute walk from the main tourist areas and about 25 minute walk to the Edmondston-Alston House by the tip of Charleston. There is on-site parking for $18.00 a day. There is a small pool, Starbucks and a Bar at the hotel. Price wise the Hotel was OK, but hotels in the city are not cheap.

Room Tip: Courtyard/ Parking lot rooms might be quieter since they are off the street. The Concierge Kevin McQuade is the best reason to book a room at this hotel. That little sign throughout the hotel. One Day in Charleston? Discover The Forgotten Corners or the City. Is worth the price of the room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ejvalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a great stay in downtown Charleston. Our room was nice, housekeeping was good and all staff were very pleasant. We took advantage of the numerous "hints" all around the hotel to contact the concierge, Kevin McQuade. We've just lived overseas and traveled extensively for the past few years but Kevin helped take us on some great adventures. Go ahead and chat with him and if you don't like what he suggests he will help figure out another journey for you. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch in the rockers too. The hotel is within walking distance of most everything you want to do. Our children ages 9 and 11 did fine walking all over Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews