We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, helpful staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
the road
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, helpful staff, convenient location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was there with a friend for a one-night getaway. Initially, they had us on two separate floors (one room had been 'upgraded' to the top floor, the other not). When we asked for rooms on the same floor, they went one better - interconnecting rooms, which really made co-ordinating so much more convenient.

The rooms were spacious, and came equipped with free wi-fi and fridge. The wi-fi was a bit slow, but adequate. The decor was typical Marriott Courtyard, which is to say nice but not intrusive. It had the double roll-out desk that I really like for work. The temperature controls were intuitive and functional, and they worked. (In some hotels they really don't!)

The setting of the hotel is pleasant, with a pretty traditional-looking church across the street. No views, though.

It's an easy walk to King's Street, the main shopping/ restaurant drag. It's also quite accessible to freeways. Though parking is meant to be $18 per night, they comped us for our mid-week overnight stay. (They also had a freebie coupon for each guest, good for coffee or a purchase from their 24-hour convenience mini-store.)

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyable stay, would happily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    479
    152
    35
    18
See reviews for
445
693
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room and bathroom was dirty and needs some serious paint and maintenance. What is up with the stupid little pillows you have on the beds? Are they made for some mythical creature with a small body?
Restaurant needs some serious maintenance. We did not sit in one booth where the benches were not torn. For a 4* hotel, it's appalling.
Had a very noisy family next to us, and security was pretty fast quieting them. However, that didn't last long.

All in all, not a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillicentMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear MillicentMP,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel on your trip from London.

I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations and you were unable to relax during your stay with us. We will definitely address the maintenance issues you mentioned with our engineering team. Our pillows are full queen sized pillows and each bed is dressed with four pillows.

I am glad that our security team responded quickly to the noise issue you experienced. I am sorry to hear that this kept you from a good night's sleep and we will make sure we are following back up on all noise issues.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you the experience we do offer at our hotel sometime in the future and if you are ever travelling back to Charleston please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed overnight for a quick visit to Charleston. The hotel is within minutes of downtown and sits on the river. Gorgeous hotel, you feel like you are living Southern warmth and hospitality as soon as you pull in the parking lot. The main floor of the hotel and lobby are on the first floor - an elevator ride up from the parking lot. The front desk staff understood that we were trying to make a dinner reservation and got us our rooms in record time. The rooms were a good, ample size and were quiet and comfortable. Lighting is very good.
The breakfast the next morning was fantastic - a $12.95 buffet breakfast included custom-order omelets. Bar service was terrific and the service was great.
The only word of caution was related to elevators which seemed to be running slowly. Staff attributed it to the number of people checking out simultaneously - but it got stuck over the weekend and seemed to warrant repair.
In all, would absolutely return and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Waterviews would be beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Courtyard. The room was nice, the front desk people were very
helpful. Andera at the concierge desk was terrific. She set us up with wonderful places to eat, and a great walking tour with Anne Middleton Herron. Charleston is a beautiful city. Just remember to bring good walking shoes.

Room Tip: rooms that face the street have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Well you can't beat the location for the price. It's walking distance to all of the down town attractions. A few blocks from the market. It's has larger rooms compared to the historic older hotels, we have stayed at, in Charleston in the past. We will definitely stay here again. As always, they have a 18 dollar parking "yourself" charge... which I always think ... is high!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joh1Kar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is located at an almost perfect location to experience Charleston. You are easily within walking distance of all of the historical locations in the downtown district, but also really close to the great restaurants and drinking spots on King Street. The Concierge is top notch and gave us great recommendations that made our stay in the city wonderful. We were in a suite room, which I recommend you spend a few extra dollars to get. The living room was well appointed an comfortable and the nearly floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom made for a charming view. I will certainly stay here again if in Charleston.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra dollars and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glennville, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Courtyard is located very conveniently to downtown. Room and common areas are very well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and air conditioning was more than up to the task of keeping us cool In Charleston's heat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing