We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Flight got cancel so came back to Charleston for one night and stayed here. Great reception at the front desk told what happen and was upgraded to a very nice suite. Very clean and new. Lobby was modern so do not expect historical feel. A 3 minute walk to King Street. Good room rate for Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onceaweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the location, cleanliness, and friendliness of this Marriott hotel. It's a great value in the Charleston area. The concierge station was really helpful in relieving the stress of planning activities for the trip - there's so much to see/do/eat in Charleston. She even made the calls for our reservations for tours and eating. My only complaint about the service is that she didn't mention any of the prices. Within 24hrs we had spent $250+ on dining and touring for two. I still believe it is a great addition to the hotel - just make sure you are upfront about your budget. We were able to modify our second day based on her recommendations and our budget which was great!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LeahDB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed over July 4th weekend at this wonderful hotel and it's the best value in Charleston in my opinion. The location is absolutely perfect, the hotel was spotless and the service was impeccable. I must say I've never experienced such a friendly and helpful staff at a hotel before. From the front desk all the way to management the attention we received was top notch. One of the managers, Grant, went out of his way to make sure we had a memorable stay and I will promise you we will be back! While it may not be as historic as some of the other hotels around town, i found the rooms much nicer, the people much nicer and the value unparralelled.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dickie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

In town touring College of Charleston with my daughter. Very convenient both to college and to central and historical districts. Well appointed rooms and on-site parking, although there was an additional parking fee.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Charleston. The hotel was clean, updated, and the staff was friendly. But if I had to pick the very best asset to this hotel, it would be the concierge, Kevin McQuade. If you want to get the most out of this city with the time you have there, Kevin is your man! Before our visit, I tried to plan our vacation through the internet by looking up attractions and reading reviews on various places. Kevin knows everything about everything in Charleston, and works really hard to stay updated on the latest restaurants and attractions. He's a much better resource than the internet! When we decided to get some ideas from him, he completely rewrote my itinerary in about 20 minutes, saved us money, and spared us from the cheesy touristy things. I can't emphasize enough how grateful were are for his service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Recently renovated it is not your tired old Courtyard hotel. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Everyone is a concierge here from the front desk to the bell staff. Our concierge Andrea was EXCELLENT . She gave us amazing recommendations for activities food & drink. We were naysayers to a walking tour but she changed our mind and it was a highlight of our trip. The hotel was centrally located and pretty much equal walking distance everywhere. The pool is a nice feature as it was a hot time in August. Not a real bar by any means Starbucks in the AM drinks in the PM . For someone who is planning to be out and about most of the day, this hotel is a fantastic value with an exceptional staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was there with a friend for a one-night getaway. Initially, they had us on two separate floors (one room had been 'upgraded' to the top floor, the other not). When we asked for rooms on the same floor, they went one better - interconnecting rooms, which really made co-ordinating so much more convenient.

The rooms were spacious, and came equipped with free wi-fi and fridge. The wi-fi was a bit slow, but adequate. The decor was typical Marriott Courtyard, which is to say nice but not intrusive. It had the double roll-out desk that I really like for work. The temperature controls were intuitive and functional, and they worked. (In some hotels they really don't!)

The setting of the hotel is pleasant, with a pretty traditional-looking church across the street. No views, though.

It's an easy walk to King's Street, the main shopping/ restaurant drag. It's also quite accessible to freeways. Though parking is meant to be $18 per night, they comped us for our mid-week overnight stay. (They also had a freebie coupon for each guest, good for coffee or a purchase from their 24-hour convenience mini-store.)

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyable stay, would happily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#35 of 61 in Charleston
1,136 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £144 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing