We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights while at Blackbaud training. The hotel provided transportation to and from the Blackbaud training facility along with airport, downtown, and area transportation if needed. This was my second stay here, the first being 5 years ago. The hotel has improved since my last visit. They no longer have smoking rooms which is nice. The rooms, especially bathrooms could use a little updating, maintenance. My a/c unit had a rattle that I fixed by putting in a piece of carboard on the vent. The area could use more places to eat because the only walking distance is the restaurant at the hotel and it is very expensive and not very good. Overall, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: get a room with a view. I looked at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jntgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Second stay. Clean, friendly. Great for a quick trip when visiting family.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyDawgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed several nights while attending a tennis event. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our first room was too close to the maids quarters. In spite of being full for the weekend they found us a "quieter" room (I am a very light sleeper). The rooms were clean and well kept. The free breakfast was more than adequate. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel provided just what I needed as noted in the title. I was on the third floor near the staircase, but never heard anyone going in or out. Never saw any "roaches" (Palmetto bugs?) as other people have noted. Don't know if this was due to the time of year or the higher floor room. The bed was plenty comfortable with a wide assortment of pillows to choose from.

I had no neighbors the first night, so it was super quiet. No idea if anyone was above me, but I never heard them. Second night I heard neighbors to the right of me as I stood outside my door, but once inside the room, I couldn't hear a thing. Later I did hear an awful clatter on the adjoining wall, but I figure something was accidentally dropped or scraped against it. Heard nothing more all night. I'd say the insulation in this building is quite good.

The gal at the front desk was pleasant when I checked in. I had no further interaction with management, so I can't really comment more. I also did not check out the breakfast because I was too busy the first morning and was in a hurry to leave the second.

I was in town for a Mount Pleasant triathlon and this location was convenient for that. It took 20 minutes to get to the race start in the morning. Convenient freeway access to Isle of Palms, Charleston, and Mount Pleasant. The island itself was very quiet the weekend I was there. Not many people out and about near the restaurants and shopping when I did venture out.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mschuliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The manager & the daytime desk clerks were not accommodating at all. I asked about nearby restaurants, shopping. I got a list of upscale restaurants - none of which were nearby. I went out walking & found several little restaurants nearby & 2 grocery stores with delis. When i asked for a late check out (when I checked in) & offered to pay extra for it, they got really upset with me. I ended up sleeping on the couch in the lobby with all my luggage around me for 4 hours. Looked like a homeless person...nearly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IAwildrose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Was here for business related software training nearby on the island. Great location, easy to get to downtown and right next to my classes. There is an ok restaurant next door - wasn't too impressed but didn't have time to go downtown every night. The shuttle service is a big plus and I really appreciated the driver's local knowledge of nightlife. The gym was ok - everything I needed but a little cramped for space. Rooms were very clean and dry - with the humidity outside it was a nice difference!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaptCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed on the first floor and went into the bathroom to get changed and the guy in the room next door was yelling through the vent in the bathroom (above the sink) to us. It scared us and we don't know for sure but think he had a camera looking at us, because when we cracked open the bathroom door, he whispered "psst" to us. CREEPY!!!! We promptly went to the front desk and the clerk switched our room, but be forwarned the vents are an area that should be evaluated. Hopefully the clerk reported it to the management.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chas9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492-7504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £99 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience true southern island hospitality with us here at the Hampton Inn Daniel Island! We are conveniently located just a short drive to historic downtown Charleston, several of the local beaches, and the popular Volvo Stadium. We offer a host of complimentary amenities, including a full hot continental breakfast, shuttle service to and from the Charleston International Airport, on-site fitness center, and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing